RSS

Review: Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

20 Sep

Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, #4)My rating: 4 of 5 stars

OK, Dead to the World may be my favorite Sookie Stackhouse book yet.

If you haven’t read this series, start at the beginning, with Dead Until Dark. It is a wonderfully fun world with a psychic waitress, lots of vampires, and a collection of werewolves and other shape changers. I’ve really enjoyed it (except when I tried to take the second book a little too seriously)!

In this book, vampire Bill has left the country after Sookie ended their relationship. (No causation implied. Probably.) Sookie is settling back into her normal life (or as normal as it gets for a psychic waitress). Returning home from work, she runs into (not quite literally) Eric, the local vampire leader. He’s wanted to be naked and in Sookie’s company for some time, but this isn’t quite how either of them pictured that happening.

In spite of her New Years resolution not to get beat up, Sookie ends up as bodyguard to a highly befuddled Eric. He’s been cursed by a group of witches that is new in town and looking for trouble, big time. Lowering Sookie’s odds of success in her vow is the disappearance of her brother, Jason. Local law enforcement figure he’s off for an extended sleep-over, so it is up to Sookie to figure out where he is.

That’s the set up. It just goes on from there…

I think the world is growing richer in each book, as we see into the communities of the different “supes” (supernaturals).

I loved kinder, gentler Eric (although it really took a lot of suspension of disbelief to think that’s what he’d be like if a curse stole his memory).

Sookie’s brother Jason is increasingly making decisions that bring him (unwillingly) into contact with the supes, and it will be interesting to watch his situation play out in future books.

I think Pam has possibilities for becoming a very interesting character.

Sookie had my sympathy, she’s finally coming to terms with her “disability” (psychic powers), but it isn’t making her life any better– she’s just getting drawn into more and more bad situations. This doesn’t seem to have any likelihood of changing soon.

I’m a little worried where Sookie’s love life is going to take her in subsequent books. She’s certainly in high demand. Will it go to her head? Will it be too much for her? Will the situation get silly?

I like that these books are quirky without getting silly, and I hope this balance is maintained in later books.

It’s interesting for me to reflect back– this is the first Sookie book I’ve read on paper rather than listened to. I think the series works equally well either way, so I’ll be returning to audio after this. I still wonder why Netlibrary has all but this one…

I read this book for the

Sookie Stackhouse 4 books down,
5 books left to go.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2009 in books, challenge, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Review: Dead to the World by Charlaine Harris

  1. Yondalla

    September 20, 2009 at 11:45 am

    I’ve pretty much liked them all, but in the last one Sookie spent far too much time (for my reading pleasure) in peril. And then there was the added annoyance that Roland laughed when I told him what the perilous force was. Witches, vampires, werewolves…those at last SOUND scary.

     
  2. Literary Feline

    September 20, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    This is actually my favorite of the series. I think it had a lot to do with Eric. 🙂 I hope you continue to enjoy the series, Laura!

     
  3. Debbie

    September 21, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    I really enjoyed how much Eric/Sookie time we got in this book. I much prefer him over Bill.

     
  4. hotlibrarytech

    September 22, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    I’ve read all the books. I’m waiting for the short story collection that is due out in October. Have you heard when the next in the series is due. What is the Sookie Stackhouse Challenge? Curious.

     

Leave a Reply

 
