RSS

BBAW: I read it because of bloggers

16 Sep

Thursday’s prompt for Book Blogger Appreciation Week is “Thanks for Introducing Me to This Book!”, talking about a book you read (and loved) and never would have known about without book blogs.

hunger gamesCatching Fire 3My choice is Suzanne Collins and The Hunger Games and Catching Fire. I can’t credit any one blog, because I was seeing The Hunger Games everywhere, and everyone was talking about it on Twitter, but I very much double I would have picked it up without the input from the blogging community.

But even beyond those two books, I’ve gained a lot from the community.  I was looking at my 5 star reviews from the last 5 months (since I started this blog). These are all truly wonderful books.  The two earliest books on the list were books I’d planned to read before discovering book blogs.

However, everything since can either be directly or indirectly credited to the blogging community. I read Olive Kitteridge for Twitter Book Club, and now my face to face book club will be reading it soon. The other two are books sent to me for review from sources other bloggers pointed me to.

So thank you, book blogging community, for most of the best books I’ve read this year.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2009 in blogging

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “BBAW: I read it because of bloggers

  1. Sheri

    September 17, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Me too! This is exactly what my post was about today as well!

    How funny!

    Sheri

     
  2. Brizmus Blogs Book

    September 17, 2009 at 2:08 am

    I haven’t read them yet because I live in France and can’t seem to find copies anywhere. That said, these are two books that i am SURE I wouldn’t even be looking for if it weren’t for book bloggers.
    I’ve really got to find copies now!

     
  3. Michelle

    September 17, 2009 at 3:36 am

    This was my choice too!

    Like you, I wasn’t able to point to any one specific blogger as an influence but rather the community as a whole via Twitter.

     
  4. gautami tripathy

    September 17, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Both are on my wishlist!

    BBAW: Thanking Feminist Reviews

     
  5. Allison

    September 17, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    great choices!

     
  6. Belle

    September 17, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    I still haven’t read either of these. I’m not a big fan of dystopian fiction, so I’m not sure I’ll enjoy them. But I’ve heard so many people raving about them! I’m sure I’ll succumb one day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
