RSS

BBAW: My To Be Read Shelf

15 Sep

My TBR shelf

My TBR shelf-- click for a bigger picture

These books are my active Too Be Read books.  There are many, many more unread books around the house that I had planned to read, and still may someday…

The one on top is the one I pulled out when I finished my last book, I haven’t started it yet.  In general, books I think I’ll be reading soon are on the left and have bookmarks.  If I’ve committed to review it, it’s on the left.  Same with upcoming book club books, once I actually have them on hand. That set is roughly sorted.  The right half is pretty random.

You can compare to this photo, from a post 3 months ago:

Book I'll be reading soon?

Book I'll be reading soon?

I’d like to say that all the books that are no longer on my shelf have been read.  Sadly, that is not the case. As it turns out, I’ve only read 4 of them.   Another 8 have been relocated to secondary locations (such as piles on my bedroom floor).  The rest are still there.

I have a closeup from early August on my Bookmarks page.  Interestingly, out of the 12 books pictured there, I’ve read 7.  Make of that what you will.

This post was for the Book Blogger Appreciation Week Show Us The TBR pile event.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2009 in blogging, Book Shot

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “BBAW: My To Be Read Shelf

  1. The Book Pirate

    September 15, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    How do you select which one to read next?

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      September 15, 2009 at 5:24 pm

      I keep a calendar of commitments (my book clubs, book tours, etc), and those have first priority. Once I’m OK on those, I give myself some leeway– I start with my oldest book I have for review, and keep moving to the right until I find something I’m in the mood to read. I’m trying to figure out where reading challenges fit it.

       
  2. reviewsbylola

    September 15, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Looks like you’ve got some reading to do! I’ve been wanting to read Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet especially.

     
  3. Rebecca

    September 15, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    I love looking at other people’s TBR piles!

     
  4. Just Mom

    September 15, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    These are great fun to see – you are awfully organized about it!

     
  5. Bookjourney

    September 15, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    This is a good pile – manageable pile!

     
  6. Zia

    September 15, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Such an organized shelf, I love it.

     
  7. sagustocox

    September 17, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Great looking shelves. I think I see you in the mirror

     
  8. Marie Burton

    September 19, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Interesting system with the bookmarks! I am along with you as far as “I’d like to say I finished”.. LOL but blogging and real life has gotten in the way for me.
    I have about 15 books I’ve committed to reviewing.
    SIGH.
    Wish I could learn to SAY NO. But some books just look so awesome..

     
  9. Carly Facciani

    September 20, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Oh! I that Hush, Hush I spy? You lucky girl! D: I want to read that book sooo bad!

     

Leave a Reply

 
