RSS

Mailbox Monday

13 Sep

I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page.

I’ve been a very bad girl– and I couldn’t be happier about it!

After weeks of behaving myself, book-wise, I had a bunch of books arrive on my doorstep.  Worse than that, I requested even more!

Cancer VixenThe first to arrive wasn’t my fault, really!  I don’t think I requested Cancer Vixen: A True Story
by Marisa Acocella Marchetto. It looks really intriguing, though, so I’m glad it came– but I don’t know when I’ll get to it :-(.

Smart One and Pretty OneThen I had a really big day, all with books that I was expecting. 

First was The Smart One and the Pretty One by Claire LaZebnik. I’ll be hosting a giveaway for this book, thanks to Hachette Book Group! I really need some good chick lit right now, but I’ve got two other books (that also are calling me) to read first.

Also in the mail that day were the reissues of Betsy-Tacy books 5 to 10! My daughter has already picked up Heaven to Betsy, and is enjoying it. I’ll start reading these in the next week or so, I’m really looking forward to it!
Heavens To Betsy In Spite of HerselfBetsy was a Junio Betsy and JoeBetsy and the Great World Betsys Wedding

What was in your mailbox this week?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2009 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Literary Feline

    September 13, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    It’s so hard not to bring more books in sometimes. They come on their own really. And once they’re here, we can’t turn them away. Enjoy your new books, Laura!

     
  2. gautami tripathy

    September 14, 2009 at 3:36 am

    I know how it is. I went and bought 10 books yesterday. Despite having a TBR pile of 250+ books.

    Musing/Mailbox Mondays

     
  3. Kristen

    September 14, 2009 at 3:45 am

    I really need to get my daughter to read the Betsy Tacy books!

     
  4. bermudaonion

    September 14, 2009 at 4:49 am

    I don’t know how I missed the Betsy Tacy books as a child. I think I need to check them out!

     
  5. Kim

    September 14, 2009 at 4:51 am

    The Cancer Vixen looks interesting. I’m just starting to read graphic novels.

    I also received The Smart One and The Pretty One & can’t wait to read it.

     
  6. Kelly

    September 14, 2009 at 5:14 am

    Nice mailbox this week! I think I might just be a tad envious, happy reading! Here’s my Mailbox

     
  7. Mary

    September 14, 2009 at 5:33 am

    I’ve only heard of the Betsy – Tacy books recently. What’s the target age for these? I have a niece who may be interested.

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      September 14, 2009 at 7:51 am

      The Betsy-Tacy books are the product of a time when books weren’t as targeted by age. The first book features Betsy and Tacy at 5 years old, and they are a couple of years older in each book.

      My daughter read the first four books when she was in third grade, and she loved them, but the fifth book (where the girls start high school) didn’t work for her at the time.

      She’s in 6th grade now. She enjoyed re-reading the first four, and likes “Heaven to Betsy” much better now.

      I hope your niece enjoys them!

       
  8. Thorn

    September 14, 2009 at 6:09 am

    My serious comics reader friends didn’t much like Cancer Vixen and I’m skeptical, but it obviously worked for some people. On the other hand, I’m thrilled about the Betsy-Tacy books. I always felt sorry for poor Tib, who only even gets title billing occasionally.

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      September 14, 2009 at 9:22 am

      I’m interested in giving Cancer Vixen a try– maybe it works better for inexperienced comics readers :-).

      And yes, I agree about poor Tib. My daughter was saying that Tib keeps going Poof! She’s there, she’s not there, she’s back again.

       
  9. Wendi B ~ Wendi's Book Corner

    September 14, 2009 at 6:19 am

    I just love the covers on the Betsy-Tracy books. 🙂 They make me feel carefree.

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     

Leave a Reply

 
