RSS

Review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

13 Sep

Catching Fire (Hunger Games, #2)My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh my.

I wasn’t sure where this book was going to go. I had some suspicions, some of which kind of came true, but I never imagined Suzanne Collins would do THAT.

I enjoyed the first half of the book, but it didn’t have quite the same punch that The Hunger Games had. I though maybe it was asking too much for this book to live up to the unexpected greatness of the previous book.

Then everything changed.

This book had everything that Hunger Games did, and then some. Adventure? Check. Great characters? Check. Social commentary? Check. Just straight out good read? Check.

As with The Hunger Games, the narrator did a great job.

Overall, just WOW.

This was a really hard book to review without giving too much away. I’m really glad I didn’t know more when I went in, and I want to allow my readers the same opportunity.

And no, I don’t have an answer on Team Gale vs. Team Peeta. For me, it would be Peeta all the way, but I wonder if Gale would be better for Katniss. Really, she’s too young to decide!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Review: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  1. Sue

    September 14, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    oooh!! I have my copy sitting on the shelf taunting me, while I finish the book I’m already into. I know I need to read next week’s book group selection next, but I’m just dying to read Catching Fire!

    I just lent The Hunger Games to my mom – she wasn’t so sure about reading a “teen” book – I can’t wait to hear her reaction!!

    Your review was perfect – I don’t want to know too much about the plot going in either…

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
