RSS

Review: The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman

03 Sep

The Accidental Time MachineMy rating: 4 of 5 stars

From the publisher’s web site:

Grad- school dropout Matt Fuller is toiling as a lowly research assistant at MIT when he inadvertently creates a time machine. With a dead-end job and a girlfriend who left him for another man, Matt has nothing to lose in taking a time-machine trip himself—or so he thinks.

I liked this book from the beginning, when Matt accidentally discovered his time machine, and tested it to see how it behaved.   He has no control over it, other than pressing a button and seeing when (and where) it goes.

The Accidental Time Machine doesn’t really get going until Matt starts to travel forward in time.

The strength of this book is in the future worlds in creates. They aren’t like anything I imagined, but I found them entirely plausible, and very interesting to consider.   I don’t want to say more, since it would take the fun out of discovering them when reading.   Matt’s reaction to moving into these different societies also worked well for me.

The characters were interesting enough. Personal growth wasn’t the emphasis of the novel, and they filled their roles adequately. Neither was this a book about detailed plot or spectacular writing. I have no complaints in any of these areas.

All in all, I found this an interesting, well-executed book.

I’m enjoying the bits and pieces of science fiction and fantasy I’ve been reading recently, and hope to incorporate more of it back into my regular reading.

I think this would make a good (but unusual) book club book, with many possibilities for discussion.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Review: The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman

  1. Nan

    September 5, 2009 at 5:25 am

    This sound interesting! I’m adding it to my TBR list.

     

Leave a Reply

 
