RSS

Review & Giveaway: How to Tame a Modern Rogue by Diana Holquist

01 Sep

How to Tame a Modern RogueMy rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

The good news first: This book was a lot of fun.

I loved the setup– the always eccentric grandmother decides she’s living in the world of a particular Regency Romance novel. As in the book, she must marry off her granddaughter (who, luckily, is not 16 as in the book). So she picks out a duke, or the closest thing to one that she can find.

Granny Donny was an interesting character, and I liked Ally. I wish I’d liked Sam a little more. His resemblance to your typical physically attractive but emotionally wounded regency romance hero was something of an ongoing gag. I did like it when he showed up in lace up pants :-).

There were several great scenes, including one involving a highly pathetic kitten.

The problem is that I need to be able to shut off the analytical part of my brain when reading a book like this.   I did have some issues with this book, that usually went away when I reminded myself I was looking forward to this book for the fun part, I wanted a break from books I needed to think about.

There were a few things that simply pushed my buttons about the way that Sam and Ally behaved towards each other, and other things I just didn’t see those characters doing.

I did have fun reading it, that was the most important thing.

Now, you have a chance to have fun reading it too.

Giveaway information

Thank you to Hachette Books for providing me a review copy of How to Tame a Modern Rogue. Thanks to them, I’m hosting a giveaway of 5 copies!

So:

  1. Leave a comment to enter. Be sure your e-mail address it asks for is valid, so I can notify you if you win.  If you have additional entries, you can leave them in the same comment.
  2. For another entry, let me know if you subscribe to my blog via RSS or e-mail, or if you follow me on Twitter. Thank you to my current subscribers, Welcome if you are new to my blog.
  3. One more entry if you let other people know about this giveaway! On your blog, on Twitter, another social site. Just let me know.
  4. As a bonus (for an additional entry) tell me what historical period you think makes for the best romances.  Granny Donny would clearly go for Regency, by the last part of the book, Ally might agree :-).

Having an address (not a PO Box) in the US or Canada is required. I’ll pick the winners in the evening of September 22.

 
47 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2009 in books, giveaway, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

47 responses to “Review & Giveaway: How to Tame a Modern Rogue by Diana Holquist

  1. JenP

    September 1, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I’d love to be entered. Thanks! jpetroroy@gmail.com

    Bonus: My favorite is the the Victorian Era.

     
  2. Bridget

    September 1, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Just a note to let you know that I blogged about this on Win A Book. No need to enter me.

     
  3. Just Mom

    September 1, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Sounds good – please enter me!
    Bonus – I subscribe to your feed through Google Reader.
    Bonus – I waver on my favorite time period for romance. I love the modesty and prolonged courtship of the Tudor period but I also like the equal partnership you see in modern times.

     
  4. Kami

    September 1, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    I would like to try this book! I want to win!

     
  5. mindy

    September 1, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    this sounds wonderful thanks

     
  6. Tiffany S.

    September 1, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    I would love a chance to win! Thank you!!

     
  7. Connie Walsh

    September 1, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Granny Donny sounds like a hoot

     
  8. Connie Walsh

    September 1, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    I subscribe via RSS

     
  9. Connie Walsh

    September 1, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    The time period I love best is American Frontier. I think it rocks when a woman of this time period just gets something done, because it needed to be done.

     
  10. Connie Walsh

    September 1, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    I tweeted you here:

     
  11. Jasmine

    September 2, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I would love to win this book, please count me in.

     
  12. Pam

    September 2, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I’d love a chance to enter, this sounds like a cute read.

    mmmmmmcoffee(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  13. Pam

    September 2, 2009 at 8:56 am

    I’m a loyal follower on Google Reader

    mmmmmmcoffee(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  14. Pam

    September 2, 2009 at 8:57 am

    My favourite time period has to be 1700 Scotland/England. anything to do with those Lairds and Lassies.

    mmmmmmcoffee(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  15. Wanda

    September 2, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I would love to be entered in your draw. Thanks.
    wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  16. Wanda

    September 2, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I subscribe through Google Reader.
    wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  17. Wanda

    September 2, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I think the Wild, Wild West era makes the best historical fiction.
    wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  18. Ellie W

    September 2, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the giveaway.
    eswright18 at gmail dot com

     
  19. MMW

    September 2, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I would be happy to win this book. Please enter me.

    whitten100 at yahoo dot com

     
  20. Andrea

    September 3, 2009 at 12:04 am

    please enter me
    for a bonus entry i think the best romance novels are set during the Colonial period
    andie.v107(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  21. Hillary Fairchild

    September 3, 2009 at 5:47 am

    I would love to be entered. Thanks!

     
  22. Beth

    September 3, 2009 at 9:48 am

    This looks great! Please enter me!

    I’m a RSS subscriber via Google Reader.

     
  23. Nicole C.

    September 3, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I would love to read this book!!

     
  24. Sarah Z

    September 3, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Sounds like a great fun read -I love it when books have crazy grannies!

     
  25. Dawn M.

    September 3, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    This sounds like a fun book. :0) Would love the chance to read it. Please enter me.

    I subscribe by email.

    Thanks!

     
  26. quiltingreader@gmail.com

    September 4, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Sounds like a great book. Enter me, please.

     
  27. heatherzilla

    September 4, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    This sounds like a fun book. Please include me in the giveaway. Thanks!

     
  28. linnahsu

    September 6, 2009 at 8:37 am

    I’d like to read this book. Please enter me.

    My favorite historical period is Victorian age. 😀

    linna.hsu at gmail dot com

     
  29. Paula Patterson

    September 7, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Sounds like a really good book. Thanks to Hachette for giveaway!! Would love to win.

     
  30. Kelly

    September 7, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    I’d love to read this!

    As for what historical period makes the best romance stories? Hmm. I’m awfully fond of the World War II era. Between the music, the war, the clothes, the attitudes… it makes for some fantastic possibilities!

     
  31. Alicia

    September 7, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Sounds cute.

    Thanks for the giveaway >^..^<

     
  32. Lena Lee

    September 10, 2009 at 9:25 am

    I love her books.

     
  33. Stacie

    September 10, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Please count me in. I am an email subscriber.

     
  34. Miranda Allen

    September 14, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Looks like a great read

     
  35. Cherie J

    September 15, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Please enter me. This sounds wonderful.

    +1 I am a subscriber by email.

    +1 Bonus: My favorite historical period is the Regency. I have been on a Roman era kick lately but Regency is my constant.

     
  36. Anfisa

    September 15, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Wow, this book sounds interesting. Please enter me into the contest. My email is anfisa93@gmail.com

    Bonus: I blogged about the book giveaway on my Blogger page: http://lauradeleonsgiveaway.blogspot.com/

    Bonus: My favorite historical period is the Regency era because people in those times were always so elegant and interesting.

     
  37. JOYE

    September 17, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I like to read Diana’s books and this one sounds so good. I have added it to my TBR list.

     
  38. Beth C

    September 19, 2009 at 5:13 am

    I’d really like to read a fun book! Sounds good. Thanks!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

     
  39. Haley

    September 21, 2009 at 6:01 am

    + i think the victorian era makes great romances
    +i follow your blog on rss
    +i tweeted at twitter.com/haleymathiot
    +i posted this link at: http://haleymathiot.blogspot.com/2009/09/mondays-giveaways.html

    haleymathiot @yahoo.com

     
  40. Anita Yancey

    September 21, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Sounds like a good read. Please enter me. Thanks!

    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

     
  41. Anita Yancey

    September 21, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I am an email subscriber!

    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

     
  42. Anita Yancey

    September 21, 2009 at 9:33 am

    I like the old west during the 1800’s best.

    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

     
  43. Tracey D (bl0226)

    September 21, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    I’m looking forward in reading this book; it sounds great.

    I’m an email subscriber.

    I love the 1930’s and 1940’s, especially the fashion.

    Thanks,
    Tracey

    booklover0226 AT gmail DOT com

     
  44. Ruth

    September 22, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Sounds like a fun book. Please enter me in your contest.

    I subscribe to your blog and follow you on twitter.

     
 
