RSS

Movie Review: Julie & Julia

25 Aug

Julie JuliaI enjoyed this movie.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not terribly critical when it comes to movies– I tend to kick back and enjoy.

In this case, I can’t help but compare it to the book it was based on.

The “Julia” portions were completely different from the book.  The movie covered a different portion of Julia Child’s life.  I think the movie version was much stronger.  I really enjoyed seeing Meryl Streep as Julia Child, and watching Julia’s determination as she went through cooking school and the writing of her cookbook was just wonderful.

The “Julie” segments suffered in the same way almost every book adapted to a movie does– there is so much left out!  I think the decisions made were good ones, but I missed some of the secondary characters, I missed the saga of the couch, the ongoing search for ingredients, the edge to Julie’s character, and so on.

Comparisons to the book aside, I think the Julia story told a complete and entertaining story.

I liked the interplay between the two stories, how they wove together.  The Julia story really reinforced the events in Julie’s life.

I’m glad I went to see this one.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2009 in movie

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Movie Review: Julie & Julia

  1. rhapsodyinbooks

    August 25, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    I didn’t read the book but I really enjoyed the movie! Meryl Streep is such an amazing talent!

     
  2. Ruth

    August 25, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Oooh, I can’t wait to see it!!!!! I’m half way through the book, but half to return it to the library, probably unfinished tomorrow, so the rest will have to wait. But I’m sad to hear the couch won’t be in the movie 🙂

     
  3. Lisa

    August 25, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    See I was wondering about the ingredients. I thought it was odd that she could just trot down to the local market and pick up all of the ingredients she needed.

    I just got Julia’s book and I’m disappointed that it won’t be like the movie 😦

     
  4. mari

    August 29, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I agree with you, I tend to be forgiving with books to movies, knowing the screenplay will not capture all the details of the book.

    I wish Julie’s brother would have been in the movie, and a visit from her mother.

    That said, I have been to this movie twice and enjoyed it both times (once with a friend, second when my parents came for a visit… it’s not that I needed to see it twice, HA).

     

Leave a Reply

 
