RSS

The View From Monday

23 Aug

I’m participating in It’s Monday, What are you reading? at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.  Head over there to see what others are reading.

Looking Back

I had a good reading week, both regarding the quality and quantity of the books I read.  I’m still a bit behind on reviews– those that are posted already are linked from the title of the book.

The Gift of an Ordinary DayI can’t even begin to say how wonderful I found The Gift of an Ordinary Day by Katrina Kenison.  This memoir was beautifully written, and really had me reflecting on the value of the ordinary in our lives.  I’m thrilled that Hachette books is allowing me to host a giveaway for 5 copies, I’d encourage you to check it out if you haven’t already.

Laced with MagicI also read Laced With Magic by Barbara Bretton for a blog tour next Wednesday with Pump Up Your Book Promotions.  I’ll give my full review then, but I will say now that I really enjoyed reading it.

OnlyMilo I picked up Only Milo by Barry Smith for a quick, in-between other books read.  It went even faster than expected, both due to the short length and the entertaining read.  Look for my full review soon!

That was my reading on paper for the week.   On audio, I had:

Mercy StreetMercy Street by Mariah Stewart was a good romantic mystery/thriller.  I really liked the characters, and look forward to reading more of this author’s work.

Looking for AlaskaI listened to Looking For Alaska by John Green to discuss with my Book Club L on Wednesday.  I’m really looking forward to hearing what the other members thought about it– there is much to talk about here.  I’ll post my review on Thursday, after incorporating what my club members had to say. And yes, I liked it.

Total for the week: 5 books (although I’m not quite sure Only Milo counts as an entire book!).  Woo Hoo!

Looking Forward

I’m currently planning on starting Sacred Hearts by Sarah Dunant tomorrow (on paper).  After that (or if I need to break for a lighter read) I’ll pick up How to Tame a Modern Rogue by Diana Holquist.

I have The Accidental Time Machine by Joe Haldeman queued up on my MP3 player.  At some point during the week, I’ll start listening to Tallgrass by Sandra Dallas for my other book club, currently scheduled to meet on Labor Day.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “The View From Monday

  1. Shweta

    August 23, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Wow ..So many in a week. Kudos to u.. Some of them are really appealing.

    Have fun reading this week too.
    My reads are here

     
  2. Teddyree

    August 24, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Wow what a great reading week you had. I’m off to check out your review of The Gift of an Ordinary Day.
    Here’s my Monday post

     
  3. Bluestocking

    August 24, 2009 at 8:10 am

    I want to read Laced with Magic. It looks good. Here is mine

     
  4. Jennifer

    August 24, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I have not read any of these. Thank you for the new suggestions.

     
  5. alitareads

    August 24, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Looking for Alaska is in my TBR pile. I borrowed it from a friend without knowing anything about it, so I’m glad to hear that you liked it! I’m looking forward to reading it.

     
  6. J. Kaye

    August 24, 2009 at 10:29 am

    John Green and Mariah Stewart are two authors I’ve been wanting to try out!

     
  7. Jill

    August 24, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I need to read Looking for Alaska. I’ve heard others talk about it.

     
  8. jess

    August 24, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    They all sound so great! Have a wonderful week of reading.

     

Leave a Reply

 
