RSS

Review: Two Years, No Rain by Shawn Klomparens

19 Aug

Two Years, No Rain My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was the male version of chick lit, following a man from the breakup of his marriage through an unexpected career change and the development of a new romantic affair. It explores his family relationships past and present, looking at him as a brother and as an uncle.

From Amazon.com:

An earnest journey from heartache to heartthrob and all the emotions along the way; at once an old-fashioned love story and a cautionary tale of self-reinvention.

In San Diego County, it hasn’t rained in 580 days. But for weatherman Andy Dunne, everything else is changing fast…Only a few weeks ago, he was a newly divorced, slightly overweight meteorologist for an obscure satellite radio station, hiding his secret love for a colleague, the beautiful—and very much married—Hillary Hsing. But nearly overnight, Andy has landed a new gig, flying a magic carpet in a bizarre live-action children’s TV show. So what is affable, basically decent Andy Dunne going to do now that he can do practically anything he wants? With a parade of hot moms begging for his autograph and a family that needs his help more than ever, Andy has a lot of choices. First, though, there’s this thing with Hillary, their heated text messages, a long-awaited forecast for rain – and a few other surprises he never saw coming…

I’m used to reading books like this by women, about women, for women. This book was written by a man about a man, and read quite differently even while retaining a familiar feel.

The relationships were clearly the most interesting part of this book. It starts with seeing Andy’s relationship (or lack thereof) with his wife, who just moved out after having multiple affairs. She leaves him in a house with no chairs, glasses or towels, and he just goes along with it, not getting angry.

Andy goes to a ball game with the husband of the woman he has a crush on, just shrugging as he’s told to back off his relationship with her.

Then Andy takes a more proactive role in the life of his teenage niece, who is having a hard time with her parents. This gives him a reason to be involved in his own life, as does his new job as a kids TV show host (and the personal trainer that’s included).

Andy continues to come to life as he’s pursued by the women who watch his show with their kids, and as he pursues his (married) crush.

And through this, the weather in San Diego remains sunny and calm.

In the end, we learn about what caused the unnatural quiet in Andy’s life, and see what happens to him and to San Diego as the end of the drought is in sight.

I admit to getting a kick out of Andy’s time as a kids TV show host– I kept seeing Steve from Blue’s Clues, which was the number one show on the TV at my house.  I don’t think I would have reacted the way so many women in the book did if I’d run into Steve when I was out for the evening, though!

I read this book as part of the Summer Reading Series at Books on the Brain), and I want to thank Lisa and Shawn for my copy of this book. I enjoyed the on-line discussion, and appreciated Shawn’s insights into his writing of the book.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 19, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Review: Two Years, No Rain by Shawn Klomparens

  1. lisamm

    August 19, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    I thought of Steve from Blues Clues too! He was a huge hit in my house when my kids were toddlers (we never really warmed up to Joe). My oldest had the striped green shirt like Steve and she insisted we call her Steve- we looooove teasing her about that now that she’s 11 and going into junior high!! Anyway, if I saw Steve in public back then, I cannot imagine reacting the way the moms in the book reacted to Andy! NO way!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the book and really happy you participated in the discussion. Thanks!

     
  2. nanscorner

    August 20, 2009 at 4:41 am

    This book sounds interesting. I like how you described it as a male version of chick lit. This cover also keeps catching my eye.

     
  3. rhapsodyinbooks

    August 20, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I love reading books about men by men. Helps me figure them out more! :–)

     
  4. Belle

    August 20, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I can’t quite picture Steve from Blue’s Clues as the hero in a chick lit novel, male version or not! Great review. It’s always interesting seeing relationships from a man’s point of view.

     
  5. Lisa

    August 22, 2009 at 8:28 am

    I thought this had great potential and loved the guy POV in a relationship book but I thought there were some problems with how Klomparens solved things. Here’s my review:
    http://litandlife.blogspot.com/2009/08/two-years-no-rain.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
