RSS

Mailbox Monday

17 Aug

I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page

I had three packages in my mailbox this week.  One of them had my daughter jumping up and down with excitement, one had her looking interested, and one was of no interest to her.

Note From an Old AcquaintanceI was interested in the arrival of A Note From An Old Acquaintance by Bill Walker, which I am reading for a Blog Tour with Pump Up Your Book Promotion in September.  I’m curious about this one, since the blurb sounds very much like a relatively straight romance, but references “taut suspense”.  Either way, it sounds like a good read.

Disreputable History of Frankie Laudau-BanksMurder SucksThe package that had my daughter interested was from Amazon.  I’d asked Twitter for a recommendation, since I needed a reference point for a review I was writing for a middle grade fiction book.  I ordered both suggested books–The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart (even though it is aimed older than the book I’m comparing too, it looked like fun) and Murder Sucks: Chiana Ryan, (sort-of) PI by June Whyte.

Betsy-tacyThe big excitement came from the package that had my daughter asking “will it be here today” all week:  The first four Betsy-Tacy books by Maude Hart Lovelace.  We’re both reading them for a TLC Book tour.  We’re eagerly awaiting the re-issue of the rest of the books! (We read the first four together years ago, but at the time, she lost interest when they got to high school.  Now she wants to know about their continued adventures).

What came in your mailbox this week?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2009 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. gautami tripathy

    August 17, 2009 at 8:46 am

    You received some diverse books. Happy reading.

    Mondays: Musings/Whereabouts

     
  2. blodeuedd

    August 17, 2009 at 9:44 am

    A lot of different looking books there.
    Enjoy 😀

     
  3. Mary

    August 17, 2009 at 10:48 am

    They sound good. Enjoy!

     
  4. Kari

    August 17, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Yay, I’m glad you ordered Disreputable History! I look forward to hearing what you think about it.

     
  5. ashleigh

    December 27, 2009 at 12:25 am

    If you love Mysteries. Murder Sucks is a great book to read. Chiana had me on the edge of my seat. I totally loved it! It was exciting and also fun to read. 🙂

    By her biggest fan Ashleigh Whyte

     

Leave a Reply

 
