RSS

Review: BBC production of Emma

13 Aug

Emma-BBCA few weeks ago, I bought the BBC Video Jane Austen Collection at Costco.  I love Costco finds, and this time I even had a coupon.

I picked out Emma to watch first.  This production is a miniseries from 1972, and is 270 minutes long (6 45 minute episodes).

On the one hand, I think it was quite faithful to the novel.  I like the book, and so I enjoyed this production. All of the performers did a fine job with their parts.  The casting for Harriet Smith and Mr. Woodhouse was particularly good– they were just as I imagined the characters.

On the other hand, I don’t think this production brought anything new to the story for me.

I feel somewhat shallow saying that I found this production dry.  It didn’t have a soundtrack, and I missed that.  The actors were relatively ordinary looking– I expect a fairly dashing Mr. Knightly, and a good looking (although not necessarily beautiful) Emma.   The whole series felt like it had the same (slow) pace.

Jane Austen fans will probably enjoy this version (although perhaps not find it a favorite), but I wouldn’t try to bring anyone new into the fold by watching it.

everythingausten2I viewed this as part of the Everything Austen Challenge. This is the first item (out of 6) that I’ve completed– I’m a little behind schedule, but I’m sure I’ll catch up at some point! I’m currently listening to An Assembly Such as This: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentlemanfor my next item. Thank you to Stephanie at Stephanie’s Written Word for organizing this challenge.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2009 in challenge, movie

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Review: BBC production of Emma

  1. Barbara

    August 13, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Coupons are always good. It is great when you come across some goodie that you didn’t expect to find. I just posted my first this week too but that’s thanks to being without a computer for over two weeks and being unable to post. I did like Lost In Austen. I’m just waiting for books I’ve put on hold at the library. Well good luck to you. It shouldn’t be too hard to pull off since there are just five more to do.

     
  2. Lisa

    August 13, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Oh, Costco–I need to get my membership renewed so I can go check out what they’ve got in movies!

     
  3. Britt, Book Habitue

    August 14, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I’m not sure I could watch Emma without Jeremy Northam…. mmm… maybe we need to watch that today… I’m sure my preschooler would love it if I put that on instead of the Disney Channel… 😉

     
  4. Heather

    August 14, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Yeah, I have trouble with the older versions of Jane Austen…

     
  5. dsuzuki

    August 15, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    I really want to read this book. I’m not really into older movies. I did enjoy the more recent BBC edition of Pride and Prejudice.

     
  6. Pammy

    August 16, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Oh dear Mr Knightley played by anyone other than Jeremy Northam?

    Outlandish.

    He IS Mr Knightley!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
