RSS

The View From Monday

10 Aug

j0439385I’m participating in It’s Monday, What are you reading? at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.  Head over there to see what others are reading.

I didn’t write my usual Monday post last week, since I’d just done a look back/look ahead for July/August.

I will note that I finished Halting State by Charles Stross (which I read for Book Club L) immediately after making that post, and Slam by Nick Hornby the next day. :-).

I’m behind on my reviews, so only one of these books has a link. I hope to catch up soon!

So, in the last week, I’ve read:

  • Club Dead by Charlaine Harris (audio)
  • Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout (audio)
  • Admission by Jean Hanff Korelitz (paper)
  • Bundle of Trouble by Diana Orgain(paper)
  • Luv Ya Bunches by Lauren Myracle

Club Dead was for the Sookie Stackhouse challenge. Olive Kitteridge was for Twitter Book Club.  Admission was for a buddy read with @lithousewifeBundle of Trouble was sent to me by the author on Twitter, and read for fun.

I read Luv Ya Bunches because I showed it to my daughter with some other books I had for review, and mentioned I’d give it to her when I was done, to get her opinion of it. She came in a few days ago, and asked if I’d finished it yet. No, but I told her I’d try to get to it soon. Besides, I had (still have)  a cold, and that sounded like a good read while feeling icky.

The next book I have scheduled to read is Two Years, No Rain by Shawn Klomparens for the Summer Reading Series at Books on the Brain.  We’ll be discussing it on August 18 (join us!), so I’ll start reading it some time this week.

I’m also planning to read The Gift of an Ordinary Day: A Mother’s Memoir by Katrina Kennison.  Thanks to Hachette Books, I’ll be hosting a giveaway of 5 copies, so check back soon!

I’m not sure what I’m listening to next.  I’m trying to space out the Sookie Stackhouse books a little, so after one more book, it’ll be time for the 4th one, Dead to the World.

How about you?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “The View From Monday

  1. Sue

    August 10, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Wow, you read a lot of books last week – that is definitely the upside to not feeling well.

    I’m interested to hear what you thought of Olive Kitteridge – my neighbor just read that one, too. It sounds interesting.

    Sue

     
  2. Teddyree

    August 10, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    You had a great reading week. I’m up to book 6 in the Sookie series, Club Dead wasn’t my favourite but still enjoyable. Happy reading.
    Here’s my Monday post

     
  3. J. Kaye

    August 10, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    I love-love the sookie series on audio! 🙂

     
  4. Diana Orgain

    August 10, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Yeah! I’m so glad to see Bundle of Trouble on your list – Hope you like it!

     
  5. Lisa

    August 10, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    I love doing the books on audio. Isn’t it great to be able to get through the TBR list that much more quickly? And to fill up that dead air space–makes my work day so much more enjoyable.

     
  6. Debbie

    August 11, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Great week of reading. I need to get to Luv Ya Bunches too. Can’t wait to see what you thought.

     

Leave a Reply

 
