RSS

Mailbox Monday

03 Aug

Note: I won’t be posting my usual Monday look forward/back because that is mostly covered in by July wrap-up post.

Iā€™m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page

It was another good book week! Probably too good :-).

In the mail:

My Forbidden Desire (Mass Market Paperback) by Carolyn JewelLaced with Magic (Paperback) by Barbara BrettonLuv Ya Bunches: Book One (Hardcover) by Lauren MyracleHush, Hush (Hardcover) by Becca FitzpatrickBundle of Trouble (Paperback) by Diana Orgain
My Forbidden Desire by Carolyn Jewel was a win from a giveaway from Kristi at Books and Needlepoint. I don’t know much about paranormal romance, but the more I read about it, the more intrigued I am. This looks like a good one!

Laced with Magic by Barbara Bretton is another paranormal romance, this one for a blog tour. I’m not sure if this sounds more like urban fantasy or paranormal romance or if I even know the difference. I love the cover on this one, and I’m looking forward to reading it later this month.

Luv Ya Bunches by Lauren Myracle was sent by Abrams publishing through Shelf Awareness for review. It looks like a fun book aimed at middle school aged kids. I need to read it, then hand it over to my daughter to get her opinion.

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick caught my eye when I first saw it on Shelf Awareness due to its striking cover illustration. I read the description and was very interested. When it started appearing around the blogging community, I shrugged and figured I’d buy it when it came out– I do understand that I’m still pretty small by publisher standards. I was thrilled to get it in my mailbox this week!

Bundle of Trouble by Diana Orgain came from the author via Twitter. I love the premise, and have to admit that the idea of becoming a PI occurred to me when my daughter was young and I was a stay at home mom (as I still am). I didn’t even start to follow through! I’m looking forward to reading how it works out for the character in this book.

When He Was Wicked (Bridgertons, #6) by Julia QuinnOlive Kitteridge: A Novel in Stories (Hardcover) by Elizabeth Strout

These two books were Costco impulse purchases, and show why the book section in Costco is so dangerous!

I’d been waffling back and forth as to whether to read Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout for Twitter Book Club next week. When I saw it at Costco, I saw this as a sign, and grabbed it. I got home and realized that I have a much better chance of finding time if I download it from the library and listen to it.

When He Was Wicked by Julia Quinn must have jumped in my cart when I wasn’t looking. Why else would I have picked up a book 6 of a series I haven’t read before? Seriously, the cover description caught my attention for reasons I can’t describe. I do enjoy this genre, and it’s been a while– maybe that is all the explanation I need!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2009 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. gautami tripathy

    August 3, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Hush, Hush is on too many lists! I want it!

    šŸ˜€

    Mondays: Musings/Whereabouts

     
  2. Trisha

    August 3, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Great selection of books. I was SO happy with all of my books I posted on my Mailbox Monday! I love books. šŸ™‚

     
  3. Kelly

    August 3, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    I got Hush Hush too. I’m hoping to find a book that my Twilight loving daughters and I can agree on. (I thought Twilight was dopey…vampires that “sparkle” sheesh…which gets me into big trouble with my girls!)

    My mailbox is here.

     
  4. Diana Orgain

    August 3, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    OMG – I so love the fact that you wanted to be a PI when your daughter was young! I hope you enjoy Bundle of Trouble

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      August 3, 2009 at 5:00 pm

      “Wanted to” is probably overstating it. I looked at the community center course catalog, and thought I might be able to do the track people on the computer side of things. I didn’t sign up, the class wasn’t offered again, and I dropped the idea. But it was enough to make me notice this book :-).

       
  5. kay

    August 3, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I would tend to say that “Laced with Magic” is definitely more of a paranormal romance. Although I haven’t read it, I read the first one, “Casting Spells”, and it was a fun, romantic read! I’m definitely envious of your copy! šŸ˜‰

     
  6. Belle

    August 3, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Oh, you’re so lucky, you got Hush Hush! Laced with Magic is such a great title. And I have problems with pesky books suddenly jumping into my cart too. We really should put our heads together and figure out a solution (or maybe not!) šŸ™‚

     
  7. booklogged

    August 3, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    When you and Belle figure out a solution to that ‘book-jumping-in-cart-problem’ please share it with me. I didn’t used to buy books as much as I have been lately but I have got to slow things down.

     
  8. Debbie

    August 4, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Great books! We got a few of the same ones. I hope you enjoy Julia Quinn. I love her Bridgerton series although I will say When He Was Wicked was probably my least favorite in the series. She’s a great writer though!

     

Leave a Reply

 
