RSS

The View From Monday

27 Jul

I’m participating in It’s Monday, What are you reading? at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.  Head over there to see what others are reading.

Looking Back

I made much better reading progress this week than last!  I’m way ahead of my normal pace.  This isn’t an accident, I’ve been really pushing to try to clear a little backlog (see my Mailbox Monday post!).  I’ll try to keep up this pace for a little longer, we’ll see.

The Language of Bees (Mary Russell Series, #9) by Laurie R. KingDead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine HarrisI listened to two audiobooks. I had almost finished The Language of Bees by Laurie R. King last week, but didn’t count it then, so I get to this week. I revisited my previous review (click the title to see), and upped the rating I’d originally give the paper version.

I then joined the bandwagon, and listened to Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris (click for my review). This is the first Sookie Stackhouse book. I enjoyed it enough to join the Beth Fish Reads Sookie Stackhouse Challenge and to check out the next book from Netlibrary.  I’m about 1/3 done with Living Dead in Dallas, the next book in the series.

Miss Leau2Benny & Shrimp (Paperback) by Katarina MazettiJulie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen... by Julie PowellFor my reading on paper, I finished Julie & Julia by Julie Powell (click for my review and a giveaway!). I liked the book, and am looking forward to the movie.  I also read Benny & Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti (cfmr).   It was a good summer read, a little more real than your standard romance.  Add to those one children’s book: Miss L’eau by T. Katz for a Pump up Your Book Blog Tour, reviewed today!.

Welcome to Biotech Nation: My Unexpected Odyssey into the Land o... by Moira A. GunnBest Friends Forever: A Novel (Hardcover) by Jennifer WeinerI’m almost done with Welcome to Biotech Nation by Moira Gunn, which we’ll be discussing at my Book Club L meeting on Thursday night. This is a very unusual choice for us.  The book isn’t what I was expecting: more fun, but I’m not learning as much as I’d expected. There is material there for a good discussion.

I’m halfway through Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner. I needed a book to take to the amusement park with me.  This turned out to be a great choice.

Looking forward

Halting State (Hardcover) by Charles StrossI’ll be finishing the three books I mentioned above.  I need to read Halting State by Charles Stross for my Book Club M, meeting next Monday.  And I’d really love to clear some backlog from my TBR Shelf.

I probably won’t go immediately into listening to the third Sookie Stackhouse book. Sometimes immersion is good, but other times it can burn me out.  I bought a bunch of books at the Audible sale, so I may dive into one of those.  Sometimes it is nice NOT to have a plan!

So, what are you reading?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “The View From Monday

  1. Teddyree

    July 27, 2009 at 4:15 am

    I have Julie and Julia coming up soon on audio and I really want to read Best Frriends Forever. Have a great reading week 🙂

     
  2. Jessica

    July 27, 2009 at 5:08 am

    Wow — you had a really great week! I am really looking forward to reading Julie and Julia. I am glad you enjoyed it!

     
  3. Nely

    July 27, 2009 at 7:07 am

    I read Benny & Shrimp too. Have a great reading week!

     
  4. thebluestockingguide

    July 27, 2009 at 7:57 am

    I haven’t read any Sookie Stackhouse. **Runs to hide** Here is mine mine

     
  5. J. Kaye

    July 27, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    I so want to read Jennifer Weiner’s new book!

     
  6. Mary

    July 27, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading Benny & Shrimp. Have a good week!

     
  7. Maree

    July 28, 2009 at 12:24 am

    Wow, great week!
    Happy reading 🙂

     
  8. Beth F

    July 28, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Hee, hee…. Sookie is so addictive.

     
  9. Sue

    July 28, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Julie & Julia and Benny and Shrimp are both on my read-soon shelf. I wanted to read Julie & Julia before the movie comes out!

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
