RSS

Review: Miss L’eau by T. Katz

27 Jul

Miss L’eau is a sweet children’s book with a very nice message.
Miss Leau tour

From T. Katz’s website:

Two kids are inspired by their teacher (and her unusual connection to the sea) to organize an Annual Clean-up event and hope to encourage kids everywhere to follow their lead of conservation and preservation.

This book is a fantasy with a nice little mystery and a great message. It is a very positive book, with lead characters that learn as the story goes on.

A child’s perspective:

The book is listed as being for ages 8-11, so I gave it to my 11 year old daughter to read. She came back very quickly and told me it was a “good book”. She didn’t have anything else to say at first, so I let it settle.

After further reflection, she came back to me and said that with a story this short, it was hard to have an interesting mystery. She liked the setup, but then it was just solved. She also thought that it was too easy for the age range listed, thinking it was more like 7 to 10. She liked the ideas in the book, particularly that the boys decided to help through the beach cleanup. Even after thinking about it further, she still liked the book.

Back to me

I do see her points. I was also somewhat disappointed in the language in the book, although I haven’t read many chapter books at that level. I was never really engaged by the words in the same way I was by the story.

I think this book could be a good choice for a classroom read– it is short and easy enough for reluctant readers, while having an interest level and ideas that will engage above that level. There are plenty of discussion possibilities.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2009 in books, reviews, tour

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Review: Miss L’eau by T. Katz

  1. nanscorner

    July 27, 2009 at 5:24 am

    I’m always looking for new chapter books to use as a read aloud for my first graders. I’ll check it out this summer.

     
  2. Sue

    July 28, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Laura –

    I really enjoyed reading both your opinion and your daughter’s on this book. I could related about first getting nothing more than “it was good.” That’s about what I get from my sons when I first ask their opinions, too! It takes some probing questions to get a little more detail.

    Thanks for the double review!

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
