RSS

Mailbox Monday

27 Jul

I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page

I’ve got a problem. A good problem, but still a problem.

Books are coming in faster than I can read them! I’ve kicked up my reading pace in the last week, but I don’t know how long that can continue…  I’m cutting back on book requests, but that’s hard when there are so many books I want to read.

Anyway, current arrivals:

Babydoll (Paperback) by Allyson Roy Babydoll by Allyson Roy is described as “Combining wacky humor with gritty, urban, suspense and a dash of romance, BABYDOLL is the second book in the Madcap Noir Saylor Oz mystery series“.  I’m reading this for an August/September tour with TLC Book Tours– Thank you for including me on this one!

Sweet Mary: A Novel (Hardcover) by Liz Balmaseda Sweet Mary: A Novel by Liz Balmaseda was from the Atria Books Galley Grab for those of us who weren’t attending BEA in New York. From its description: “In this mesmerizing debut novel by two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Liz Balmaseda, one woman’s hunger for justice becomes a journey into darkness — and a punishing, soul-searching test of priorities.” Thank you Atria!

Best Friends Forever: A Novel (Hardcover) by Jennifer Weiner Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner is also from the Atria Galley Grab. From the description: “Best Friends Forever is a grand, hilarious, edge-of-your-seat adventure; a story about betrayal and loyalty, family history and small-town secrets. It’s about living through tragedy, finding love where you least expect it, and the ties that keep best friends together.” This one wouldn’t stay on the shelf, but insisted on becoming a summer read while the kids played at the amusement park!  Thank you Atria.

Show No Fear (SEAL Team 12, #7) by Marliss Melton Show No Fear (SEAL Team 12, #7) by Marliss Melton is from Hachette Books, for review.  From the description: “Lucy Donovan always gets her man. As a fiercely independent CIA agent, she’s survived hundreds of death-defying missions. But her latest may just get her killed. Weighed down with a secret she’s desperate to keep, the last thing Lucy needs is to be sent undercover with a man who brings out the best–and the worst–in her.”  Thank you Anna from Hachette!

Arriving in my house via car rather than mailbox this week was

Halting State (Hardcover) by Charles Stross Halting State by Charles Stross is for my Book Club M in a little over a week. “In the year 2018, Sergeant Sue Smith of the Edinburgh constabulary is called in on a special case. A daring bank robbery has taken place at Hayek Associates, a dot-com startup company that’s just been floated on the London stock exchange. The suspects are a band of marauding orcs, with a dragon in tow for fire support, and the bank is located within the virtual reality land of Avalon Four. For Smith, the investigation seems pointless. But she soon realizes that the virtual world may have a devastating effect in the real one-and that someone is about to launch an attack upon both…”

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2009 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Teddyree

    July 27, 2009 at 4:02 am

    Great mailbox 🙂 I have my eye on Best Friends Forever, have a great reading week!

     
  2. bermudaonion

    July 27, 2009 at 4:33 am

    You got some good looking books! I’m hoping a copy of Best Friends Forever will mysteriously show up in my mailbox.

     
  3. sagustocox

    July 27, 2009 at 4:56 am

    i received Sweet Mary as well…happy reading.

     
  4. Mary

    July 27, 2009 at 5:00 am

    That’s a nice variety of books. Enjoy!

     
  5. Trisha

    July 27, 2009 at 5:08 am

    Great books. Best Friends Forever sounds like it is going to be really good. 🙂

     
  6. vivienne

    July 27, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Some lovely books there this week. Sweet Mary sounds good.

     
  7. Jessica Marie

    July 27, 2009 at 9:29 am

    What a nice selection of books this week, I hope you enjoy reading all of them! I wish that I knew enough people in real life to have a book club, so I am a lil jealous. 😉

     
  8. Andrea

    July 27, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I got a copy of Best Friends Forever this week too…but this is my second copy and I’ve already read and reviewed it…I hope you enjoy it!

     
  9. Stephanie

    July 27, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Hi Laura,

    I found your link over at “The Printed Page” and wanted to let you know that I definitely have the same ‘good’ problem that you do. I bring in books way faster than I can read them! 🙂 Oh well, there are worse problems we could have lol

    Happy Reading

     
  10. Debbie

    July 27, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Ohh…good books. I have to check out the Show No Fear book. I love reading Navy SEAL books.

     
  11. Kaye

    July 27, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    I keep hoping I will actually get at least one of the Atria grab books but it looks like everyone has already received theirs. sniff, boo hoo. Have a great week and enjoy your new books. My MM is here .

     
  12. diane

    July 28, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Just finished Benny & Shrimp recently–very fun read.

     

Leave a Reply

 
