RSS

Review: Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

26 Jul

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1)My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was a great light read.

Ever since I was a teen, I’ve had a weakness for books/TV shows/etc. about people with extra abilities, particularly when it is shown as being not always easy.

This book certainly fits that niche. I’d like to say that this book was thought provoking, causing me to consider how we treat those that are different.   That theme was there, but there  isn’t anything new here on that front.  I can’t say that’s what I was thinking about.

The strength of this book was in Sookie’s character, and her relationships with the other characters. She interacted with friends, family, acquaintances, bad guys…  We saw a different view of her when she was interacting with her grandmother, a potential love interest, her best friend who was prejudiced against a love interest, or a powerful vampire.  These all added together to make an interesting character.

The world that was built was an interesting one, and I look forward to exploring it further.  The relations between the vampires and the humans, the different vampire communities, and then adding in those with other gifts has a lot of potential.

Although I didn’t mind it here, I am a little wary of the setup of the multiple potential love interests.  We’ll see where it goes.

But all of this sounds very serious.  The book wasn’t. Mostly, I just had fun reading!

And with this post, I’m joining the Beth Fish Reads Sookie Stackhouse Challenge.  I know that once I start a series, I tend to follow it through, so I might as well track it and do it with friends!

Sookie Stackhouse

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2009 in books, challenge, reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Review: Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

  1. nanscorner

    July 26, 2009 at 7:02 am

    I have been wanting to start this series. I might have to join this challenge!

     
  2. Teddyree

    July 27, 2009 at 4:04 am

    I’m up to book 6 in this series, and I love it for the absolute entertainment value. Love the True blood series too, still waiting on season 2 here in Australia!

     
  3. vivienne

    July 27, 2009 at 5:51 am

    I am glad you enjoyed it. My review is being posted tomorrow. I thought it was fabulous. I shall add your review into my post.

     
  4. Belle

    July 28, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    So glad you found this one fun. I’ve only just started reading it, for the challenge, but haven’t gone much further. I see you’ve just posted your review of the next book, too – I’m going to hold off from reading your review of that one until I get to book 2. Good to hear that so far, it’s been a fun read.

     

Leave a Reply

 
