RSS

The View from Monday

20 Jul

On Mondays, I join J. Kaye’s Book Blog in looking back at what I’ve read over the last week and forward at what I plan to read in the next one.

Looking Back

I’m almost embarrassed to say I only finished one book last week.

A Summer AffairI read (and reviewed) A Summer Affair by Elin Hilderbrand. I found it a very thought provoking read, click on the title and read my review for more information!

I spent some time reading Welcome to Biotech Nation by Moira Gunn. We’ll be discussing it next week for my Book Club L. I’m enjoying it, but it isn’t quite what I expected– it is very readable, but not as technical as I was expecting. I’m almost halfway through, so we’ll see where it goes from here.

I started Julie & Julia by Julie Powell, and hope to find time to finish it today. We’ll see how it goes. I like it so far, and am looking forward to the movie. I’ll have a giveaway for 5 copies when I get my review up this week– Thank you Hachette books!

I’m almost done listening to Laurie R. King’s The Language of Bees. I enjoyed it the first time through when I read it on paper. I think I like it even a little more this time, but it still isn’t one of my favorite books in my favorite series– but that is a high bar!

Looking Forward

I’ll finish Julie & Julia and The Language of Bees.

I’ll read Miss L’eau by T. Katz (a children’s chapter book) for a Blog Tour– my daughter will be teaming up with me on this one.

I think I’ll read Sacred Hearts by Sarah Dunant next, but I’m not committed to that!

I’ll be shopping Audible’s sale today, and will probably listen to something from that next, although there are a couple of non-sale books on my list as well. We’ll see.

Giveaways!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “The View from Monday

  1. Alaine Bucknall

    July 20, 2009 at 2:44 am

    I only got through 2, haven’t had as much time to read the past couple of weeks. Looks like you’ve got a lot coming up. I want to read Julie & Julia as well so I look forward to your review.

     
  2. Teddyree

    July 20, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Nothing wrong with reading just one book, I’ve had weeks like that but I managed 2 this week. Heard good things about Julie and Julia, have a great reading week 🙂

     
  3. jess

    July 20, 2009 at 4:30 am

    I am looking forward to your Julie and Julia review. I won a copy a few weeks ago and am looking forward to reading it. Have a great day!

     
  4. Kristen

    July 20, 2009 at 4:47 am

    One good book is better than zipping through 5 terrible ones!

     
  5. Maree

    July 20, 2009 at 5:14 am

    I only finished one book, too, Coraline by Neil Gaiman. It’s a short one at that – less than 200 pages … happy reading!

     
  6. Ana O.

    July 20, 2009 at 5:15 am

    Sacred Hearts is in my audio pile and it’s probably going to be one of my next reads too!

     
  7. Lisa

    July 20, 2009 at 5:50 am

    I usually only finish one book but last week I finished two, which is rare! Enjoy your books!

     
  8. J Kaye

    July 20, 2009 at 8:16 am

    I loved A SUMMER AFFAIR. It was my intro to this author.

     
  9. Bluestocking

    July 20, 2009 at 8:37 am

    We all have those weeks where a lot of books don’t get read. Here is mine

     
  10. miss cindy :)

    July 20, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I also only finished one book this week too. Here’s my list 🙂
    happy reading 🙂

     
  11. Danni

    July 20, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I too only finished one book. I’m not a slow reader but I do love to savor my books, sometimes I wish they wouldn’t end! Happy reading. 🙂

     
  12. Mary

    July 20, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I’ve had one book weeks. Not a bad thing.
    Enjoy your books this week!

     
  13. nanscorner

    July 21, 2009 at 5:15 am

    I’ve got something for you: Nan’s Corner of the Web

    Have a great day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
