RSS

Movie Review: My Sister’s Keeper

19 Jul

I read My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult for my book club L in January 2007.  I liked the book, and we had a good discussion of it.  Many times since then, I’ve thought I should read another one of her books.  I’ve picked up one or another, read the back, and thought it sounded interesting.  I’ve been almost ready to buy it, and then asked myself “Do I really want to read that?”.  So far, the answer has been “No, not right now”.

mysisterskeeper_smallposterI asked the same question when I heard that there was going to be a movie of My Sister’s Keeper.   This time, the answer was yes, assuming I could find friends to see it with.  I did, and I saw the movie last week.

I liked the movie.  But then again, I usually do.  In my post on book ratings yesterday, I said that if I think I’m going to like a book, I usually do, but that doesn’t preclude me being critical of it.  With movies, I’m even more likely to like a movie, and even less likely to be critical.  I find a movie really pulls me into its world, and it takes a lot to push me out.

That said:  I think the acting was wonderful.  I liked most of the choices that were made in what to keep and what to change from the book.  Jesse (the brother) got the raw deal in the process, having the parts that were actually about him removed entirely, but these decisions have to be made.

I was somewhat disappointed about the change to the ending, but I understand why it was done.  There were those in my book club that hated the original ending as well, and I can see their point!  The four of us that saw it together couldn’t come up with a completely satisfying ending, although wiping out the entire city with a giant meteor had its appeal.

I’ll recommend this movie for a girls night out (or in, when it is on DVD).

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2009 in movie

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Movie Review: My Sister’s Keeper

  1. Yondalla

    July 19, 2009 at 6:40 am

    I’ve read a couple of Picoult books. My Sister’s Keeper and Plain Truth are the two that I actually remember. If you do recommend another, PT is a good one.

     
  2. Literary Feline

    July 19, 2009 at 8:14 am

    I haven’t seen this film yet. I decided it might be best for me to watch it when it comes out on DVD, in part because of the emotional factor. I am glad you liked it. I had heard Jesse’s part was cut quite a bit–and while that is a bit disappointing, it’s understanding. That actually was the part I liked least in the book–not his story per say, but the fact that I didn’t feel Picoult gave his story satisfactory resolution. It seemed to abrupt to me. I seem to be the only one who thought so though. 🙂 I actually liked the ending of the book, on the other hand.

    I’m curious to see what I think of the end of the movie. When I heard Picoult was against it at first (I know now she’s said it works and she’s happy with it), it sort of pre-set my own dislike for the it that I haven’t been able to shake.

     
  3. Ruth

    July 19, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    I did enjoy the movie, even though I wasn’t entirely pleased with the choices they made. As for Jesse’s part, they cut just enough to make it really confusing if you hadn’t read the book, I think. I did think the actor who played Jesse captured the character well. As a matter of fact, I thought the acting by all the kids was especially good.

    Definitely worth seeing. Not as emotional for me as the book, but that’s OK – I was a little worried about making it through the movie if it was!

     
  4. Sue

    July 21, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I also read the book for my book group a couple of years ago and loved it. I also want to see the movie with friends, so I haven’t seen it yet.

    I have loved most of the Picoult books I’ve read, especially her way of showing all the shades of gray in issues that at first glance seem black-and-white. I would highly recommend Plain Truth and Nineteen Minutes.

    Thanks for the review – I have GOT to find someone to go see the movie with me!

    Sue

     
  5. Care

    July 22, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie yet but I do know abt the ending. In fact, this book is on the HighSchool reading list so the teachers can find out if they really READ it or only saw the flick! I find that hilarious; I bet the kids won’t be fooled, tho.
    The book/ending made me mad but I rated it high. and I’m not sure I ever want to read another Picoult book any time soon. Maybe Nineteen Minutes. maybe.

     
  6. BookwormMari

    August 20, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Laura,

    Thanks for the link. My face was red and puffy as the credits rolled by.
    The actress playing Kate was unbelieveable – her facial expressions moved me to tears.

    At first I wasn’t sure about Diaz playing the mom but she did a great job.

    I heard three different endings were filmed and from an interview with JP… i don’t think she liked any of them but mentioned she lost creative control when she sold the movie rights.

    If I was watching this at home, I’m not sure I could finish.

    I agree that it’s a must see if only to get in touch with our feelings and it is a reminder that sometimes we can’t make it better.

     

Leave a Reply

 
