RSS

The View From Monday

12 Jul

On Mondays, I join J. Kaye’s Book Blog in looking back at what I’ve read over the last week and forward at what I plan to read in the next one.

Looking back

I had some good reading time this week!  Click on the book titles for links to my review (if I’ve published it) or to further information on the book.

Pushing Up Bluebonnets (Yellow Rose Mystery #5) by Leann SweeneyIn audiobooks, I finished Sweet Talk by Susan Mallery. I enjoyed it, but  I developed an issue with the book, which I discussed in my review.  I then straightened out my license issues with Pushing Up Bluebonnets by Leann Sweeney, and made my way through it, with some pauses for confusion on my part.

One Scream Away (Mass Market Paperback) by Kate BradyOn paper, I dove straight into One Scream Away by Kate Brady for tomorrow’s blog tour.  I really enjoyed this once I started reading it as a thriller, rather than as romantic suspense.  Check out my review tomorrow for details and a giveaway!  I’ll have 5 copies available to lucky readers.

Last Night in Montreal (Hardcover) by Emily St. John MandelI then picked up the Twitter Book Club Book, Last Night in Montreal by Emily St. John Mandel. My review will be coming out this week, probably Wednesday or Thursday.  I’m looking forward to the discussion on Twitter– I liked this book, and think it will lead to good conversation.

Welcome to Biotech Nation: My Unexpected Odyssey into the Land o... by Moira A. GunnI also started my next book for Book Club L.  We are reading Welcome to Biotech Nation by Moira Gunn.  I’m slating this for reading one chapter per day, finishing before our July 30 discussion date.  I’m not into the real meat of it yet, but I think it will be quite readable and educational.  I think it will even be discussable.

On Sunday, I started the audiobook of Laurie R. King’s The Language of Bees.  I enjoyed the physical book, but I didn’t find it to be one of the best of my favorite series. I’ll see if listening changes this opinion or reinforces it.

Looking Forward

So what am I reading next?  I don’t have any commitments this week, so I have some choices!  I think I’m going to read Julie & Julia by Julie Powell and A Summer Affair by Elin Hilderbrand. But I might change my mind.  And that’s just fine.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2009 in Book Club, books, L, summary

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “The View From Monday

  1. gautami tripathy

    July 13, 2009 at 1:17 am

    You sure picked interesting books!

    Mondays: Musings/Whereabouts

     
  2. J. Kaye

    July 13, 2009 at 5:17 am

    I want to read ONE SCREAM, but won’t be able to focus on it until these 999 Reading Challenges are done.

     
  3. Teddyree

    July 13, 2009 at 5:20 am

    Have a great reading week, I like the sound of Julie and Julia!

     
  4. Jessica

    July 13, 2009 at 5:39 am

    I just won a copy of Julie and Julia and am really looking forward to reading it! Have a great week of reading.

     
  5. thebrainlair

    July 13, 2009 at 8:30 am

    The twitter book club sounds interesting. I like that idea. Hope you have a fun reading week!

     
  6. Sue

    July 13, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Wow, you read a lot of books in one week! How do you manage that? Sounds like some good selections. I look forward to more reviews!

    Sue

     
  7. Maree

    July 13, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Ooh … a twitter book club?
    Heh. Happy reading 🙂

     
  8. Mary

    July 13, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I hope you enjoy which ever book you decide to read this week!

     
  9. mari

    July 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    My book club is reading Montreal in Sept and meeting with the author via Skype. Let me know if you would like to join us via skype.

    We are experimenting with a national Skype call with our author interview in August (we will have about 8 different participants on the call).

    Can’t wait to read your review

     

Leave a Reply

 
