RSS

Giveaway: The Impostor’s Daughter

09 Jul

The Impostor's DaughterI thought my first book giveaway was going to be next week, but I’m jumping the gun. I’ve got several more coming up in the next few weeks– Thank You Hachette Books!

My review copy of The Impostor’s Daughter by Laurie Sandell arrived this week. Looking at it, I thought it would be much more fun to read with other people. Since I was going to host a giveaway anyway, I decided to do that first, and hope that at least one of the 5 winners will read with me :-).

From Hachette’s web site:

Laurie Sandell grew up in awe (and sometimes in terror) of her larger-than-life father, who told jaw-dropping tales of a privileged childhood in Buenos Aires, academic triumphs, heroism during Vietnam, friendships with Kissinger and the Pope. As a young woman, Laurie unconsciously mirrors her dad, trying on several outsized personalities (Tokyo stripper, lesbian seductress, Ambien addict).

Later, she lucks into the perfect job–interviewing celebrities for a top women’s magazine. Growing up with her extraordinary father has given Laurie a knack for relating to the stars.

But while researching an article on her dad’s life, she makes an astonishing discovery: he’s not the man he says he is–not even close. Now, Laurie begins to puzzle together three decades of lies and the splintered person that resulted from them–herself.

What I didn’t realize from reading about this book is that it is a graphic memoir. (Is that the right word for it? Let me know.) A really cool looking one! This looks like a very compelling, unique read. I don’t have much experience with this format, and I’m looking forward to this one.

So:
Agreeing to read it with me is NOT required! Having an address (not a PO Box) in the US or Canada is necessary, however. I’ll pick the winners on July 23.

  1. Leave a comment to enter. Be sure your e-mail address is valid, so I can notify you if you win. If you feel like it, tell me about your experience with graphic books. Do you read this format? Have you encountered non-fiction before?
  2. For another entry, let me know if you subscribe to my blog via RSS or e-mail, or if you follow me on Twitter. Thank you to my current subscribers, Welcome if you are new to my blog. Make it easy on me by leaving a separate comment!
  3. One more entry if you let other people know about this giveaway! On your blog, on Twitter, just let me know. As above, please leave a separate comment for each entry.

This is my first giveaway, I hope I didn’t forget anything important!.

 
45 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2009 in books, giveaway

 

Tags: , ,

45 responses to “Giveaway: The Impostor’s Daughter

  1. Sharon Spivack

    July 9, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Wow, Laura…this looks so professional!! I’ve read only one graphic novel and it was fiction, so this will be interesting. Graphic novels are not my usual taste, but I like the idea of doing it read-along fashion…so enter me!

     
  2. Sharon Spivack

    July 9, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Okay, let’s see, entry two…I follow you on Twitter and check your blog several times a week. 🙂

     
    • Sharon Spivack

      July 9, 2009 at 9:30 am

      PS I also subscribe via email!

       
  3. Sharon Spivack

    July 9, 2009 at 9:29 am

    And…for entry number three…I’ll let everyone I know (many of whom are great readers) know about this via Twitter and old fashioned word of mouth. BTW one of the other riders in my car dealership shuttle this a.m. is a teacher at a private school in S’vale. He just wrote a children’s book, and was lamenting how getting it “noticed” is not easy. I suggested that he get in touch with book bloggers and give them a copy, and I mentioned your blog. I don’t know if he’ll follow up (or even his name!) but maybe you’ll hear from him.

     
  4. Ruth

    July 9, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Sounds great! I don’t have much experience with graphic novels, but would love to read this one with you.

     
  5. Ruth

    July 9, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Second entry – I follow your every word on twitter 🙂
    Oh, and I subscribe to your blog, too.
    Great job setting up your first giveaway!

     
  6. Christy A.

    July 9, 2009 at 10:20 am

    I’ve read a few before, and this one sounds like a great premise. Thanks for bringing this book to my attention!

     
  7. Margaret Birnbaum

    July 9, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Laura,
    This sounds interesting. I’d like to enter your giveaway contest. Actually I’ve read two graphic novels recently: The Quitter, and The Rabbi’s Cat. It took me a while to get used to the graphic novel format, but I’m warming up to it now. I have to remind myself to actually look at the pictures, because my eyes are always drawn to the words on the page. I’d be happy to read this book with you and see how it compares to the others I’ve read.

     
  8. Margaret Birnbaum

    July 9, 2009 at 11:00 am

    And here’s my second post, answering your questions. I am a new subscriber to your blog, just signed up this morning, and receive it by email. I haven’t taken the plunge into Twitter yet…

     
  9. nanscorner

    July 9, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    This sounds so interesting, and a format I don’t usually read.

    vtgoat[at]gmail[dot]com

     
  10. nanscorner

    July 9, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    I also subscribed through google reader.

    vtgoat[at]gmail[dot]com

     
  11. Stacy

    July 9, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Laura-

    I feel bad that this is my first comment, even though I do read you and follow you on twitter and facebook 🙂

    I would love to read this book along with you….it would give me something else to think about!

    Stacy

     
  12. Stacy

    July 9, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I just subscribed via email too!

     
  13. Susan Helene Gottfried

    July 9, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Hi, Laura! Good to meet you!

    No need to enter me (You’ll get used to this about me! My TBR is threatening to eat my office alive). I’m dropping in to say thanks for the e-mail. I’ve got this posted at Win a Book for you.

     
  14. avisannschild

    July 9, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    No need to enter me — I just wanted to say this is a fantastic book! I got it last week and devoured it in one gulp on the same day it arrived. And yup, it’s a graphic memoir.

     
  15. Marie

    July 9, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    I think I’ve only read one graphic novel and it was fiction — it would be interesting to give it another try and this book sounds very good!

     
  16. elizabeth

    July 9, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    really want to read this book, hearing about it everywhere it seems
    i think my contact is in my profile but if not
    wheresmyrain@yahoo.com

     
  17. Susan Helene Gottfried

    July 10, 2009 at 5:03 am

    Still no need to enter me! Yes, I truly DID grab the dictionary to check the spelling of the title. Both Impostor and Imposter are fine, according to Webster.

    wild, huh? I was an -er girl, myself, before this book crossed my radar.

     
  18. Chris

    July 10, 2009 at 6:04 am

    A non-fiction graphic novel – I can think of one other. Persepolis. It was recently turned into a stylized movie that matched its format in print. Great read. It’s an interesting way to tell a story, and can be very compelling. Or am I reading too much into “graphic memoir”?

    Anyways, I’m looking forward to reading this!

     
  19. Suzanne L.

    July 10, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Hi Laura! No need to enter me, just wanted to stop by from Book Blog and say hello! And say how much I LOVED this book! I was kinda surprised when I opened it up to see it was a graphic novel…. but it was a fun read!

    Suzanne

     
  20. Pam R.

    July 10, 2009 at 6:17 am

    I’ve never read a graphic novel before but this one sounds really interesting. And I do enjoy memoirs so I’d like to give it a try!

     
  21. Barbara Davis

    July 11, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    I would love to win this book.

    fatimastreasure(at)hotmail(dot)com

     
  22. Katrina

    July 11, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    I have not read that format before but I am eager to try it out.

    ykatrina at hotmail dot com

     
  23. Aimee W.

    July 12, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Thanks for the giveaway…this book sounds fascinating! I don’t think I have ever read any graphic/illustrated books as adult. Non-fiction, on the other hand, I really enjoy and read all the time. I especially enjoy memiors.
    Aimee
    sierranelsby (at) gmail (dot) com

     
  24. Aimee W.

    July 12, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I subscribe to your blog via email.
    Thanks!

     
  25. Aimee W.

    July 12, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I am following you on Twitter…my user name is Nelsby.
    Thanks!

     
  26. Aimee W.

    July 12, 2009 at 10:08 am

     
  27. Carrie K.

    July 12, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    I’ve been reading so many good things about this book – I’d love to win a copy! I enjoy graphic memoirs: Blankets and Maus are two of my favorites.

    nnjmom at yahoo dot com

     
  28. Carrie K.

    July 12, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    I’m already a follower. 🙂

    nnjmom at yahoo dot com

     
  29. Carrie K.

    July 12, 2009 at 4:25 pm

     
  30. Sue

    July 13, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I’ll read it with you! Thanks for the giveaway~

    s.mickelson at gmail dot com

     
  31. Marie

    July 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    please enter me! bibliophile at bostonbibliophile dot com. thank you! 🙂

     
  32. cenyasmom

    July 17, 2009 at 4:48 am

    I am a subscriber and would like to win this book. The review sounds very interesting.

     
  33. Belle

    July 18, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    I like graphic novels, although I’ve never read a graphic memoir before!

     
  34. writerinspired

    July 21, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Thanks for the contest! I have not read any graphic novels, but need to get caught up as my yougn writing studnets read soem, I should be familiar. This looks like a fascinatig read! Hope I win!
    ~Mary Jo

    mjcwriter”at” comcast”dot”net

     
  35. writerinspired

    July 21, 2009 at 9:59 am

    me again – now following you on twitter, follow me too: @mjcwriter

     
  36. writerinspired

    July 21, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Just tweeted about this giveaway!
    mjcwriter”at”comcast”dot”com

     
  37. Mozi Esmes Mommy

    July 21, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Would love to read this!

     
  38. susan

    July 22, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    sounds like a great read! Congrats on the great review.
    Susan Shay
    http://the-twisted-sisters.com
    http://susanshay.net

     
  39. Vasilly

    July 22, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I’ve read many great books that are in graphic format, many that are memoirs such as Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi and Fun Home by Alison Bechdel.

     
  40. Vasilly

    July 22, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I follow you on Twitter and I’m subscribed to your blog already.

     

Leave a Reply

 
