RSS

The View From Monday

06 Jul

On Mondays, I join J. Kaye’s Book Blog in looking back at what I’ve read over the last week and forward at what I plan to read in the next one.

vacationLooking back

I was on vacation last week, which interfered with my normal weekly reading!

In particular, I had very little book reading and particularly book listening time.  When on vacation, family seems to expect you to talk to them.  Even more than that, they expect you to listen to them!

I’d hoped to listen to an audiobook together in the car.  My daughter, who was enthusiastic at home, and helped to pick the list of possibilities, was utterly uninterested once in the car, and my husband didn’t care either way.  So that didn’t happen.

I started to listen to one audiobook near the end of the week (a Netlibrary download), and discovered the license was messed up.

I started another, but it started sounding familiar about 30 minutes in.  I listened for another 15 minutes, then checked.  Yep, I’d listened to it before.  I remembered the rest of it, or at least more or less how it went, but  I still have no recollection of those first 30 minutes!

Sweet Talk (Bakery Sisters #1) by Susan MalleryYesterday, I finally started listening to Sweet Talk by Susan Mallery.  I downloaded this last month as a free offer through Lion Yarn.  It is a nice, light romance.  I’m about 1/2 of the way through, and am enjoying it.

I also read two paper books.

The Black Dahlia (Paperback) by James Ellroy I read The Black Dahlia by James Elroy for my Book Club M.   We are discussing it tonight, and  I hope to have my review up tomorrow.  I read this one a little bit at a time.  This wasn’t quite my style of book.  It was just… dark. I finished The Black Dahlia just in time for our drive home from vacation.

The Castaways: A Novel (Hardcover) by Elin Hilderbrand Once we decided we weren’t listening to an audiobook in the car, I picked up The Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand, which I’m reading for a blog tour.  This was such a relief after The Black Dahlia!  I finished it on our drive, luckily my family was fairly self sufficient on this leg of the trip.  My review will go up on Friday.  You’ll be seeing it around a lot of blogs this week!

Looking Forward

One Scream Away (Mass Market Paperback) by Kate Brady Next up is One Scream Away by Kate Brady, which I’m also reading for a blog tour, on July 14.  This looks like a fun, exciting read, and I’m looking forward to it.

Welcome to Biotech Nation: My Unexpected Odyssey into the Land o... by Moira A. Gunn I’m also planning on getting started on my book for Book Club L, even though we aren’t meeting until the end of the month. We’re trying something different, and reading Welcome to Biotech Nation: My Unexpected Odyssey into the Land of Small Molecules, Lean Genes, and Big Ideas by Moira Gunn.   I’m looking forward to it, but think I may enjoy it more if I read it in small pieces, rather than all at once.

I’m not sure what kind of summer week my daughter and I will be having this week.  If it involves lots of reading, I have lots of other books to enjoy!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2009 in Book Club, books, M, summary

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “The View From Monday

  1. gautami tripathy

    July 6, 2009 at 6:30 am

    You have some good reads lined up! Happy reading..

    Here is my Monday post

     
  2. J. Kaye

    July 6, 2009 at 8:54 am

    LOLOLOL at your photo! Perfect for your back from vacation look. What did you think of Elin Hilderbrand’s book and have you read any others by her?

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      July 6, 2009 at 9:05 am

      I loved The Castaways, although I think almost anything would have been a relief after The Black Dahlia! It was my first Elin Hilderbrand. I have another one coming up that I’m hoping to sneak in this week!

       
  3. Kristen

    July 6, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Fun books for this week! Enjoy!

     
  4. Jessica

    July 6, 2009 at 9:17 am

    I am hearing alot about The Castaways today. Have a great week of reading!

     
  5. J. Kaye

    July 6, 2009 at 9:29 am

    I read A SUMMER AFFAIR and was blown away. The main character stayed with me for weeks.

     
  6. Mary

    July 6, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Have a great reading week. I look forward to hearing about your Book Club selection!

     
  7. Meghan

    July 7, 2009 at 2:19 am

    My family always expects me to talk to them on vacation too! How silly of them. I need my reading time. 😉

    I’ve been seeing a lot about The Castaways – I may have to look into it if it’s that good!

     
  8. Sue

    July 8, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I’ve heard good things about The Castaways and it’s on my list, so I look forward to your review.

    I had to laugh about the audio books in the car while on vacation! We just returned from a 3-week cross-country road trip, and we always bring a huge stack of audio books. My younger son (11 now) is just like your daughter and always says he doesn’t want to listen, but once we start a story, he gets into it and then doesn’t want to stop! I’ve learned that at some point I just have to say, “OK, we’re listening to a book now” and stick the CD in. Then he gets hooked. We listened to a few good ones on this trip but didn’t even make a dent in the huge stack we brought along!

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
