RSS

Jane Austen Challenge

28 Jun

everythingausten2OK, I think I’m going to join in with the Everything Austen Challenge at Stephanie’s Written Word!

I’d been avoiding it for two reasons:

  1. I don’t want to get caught up in challenges.
  2. I did a complete re-read of Jan Austen relatively recently.

All of the reviews I’ve been reading of fun tie-in books have won me over.  I’ll read some of those, watch a couple of movies, maybe pick an Austen book to re-read…

The challenge: The Everything Austen Challenge will run for six months (July 1, 2009 – January 1, 2010)! All you need to do is pick out what six Austen-themed things you want to finish to complete the challenge.

I’m not quite ready to commit yet, but here’s what I’m thinking:

  1. Austenland by Shannon Hale
  2. Lost in Austen: Create your own Jane Austen Adventure by Emma Campbell Webster
  3. Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler
  4. Watch Emma (again)
  5. Watch Sense & Sensibility (again)
  6. Watch Lost in Austen
  7. Re-reread one of Jane Austen’s novels

Yup, that’s already more than 6, and there are other possibilities I’m considering!  I’m looking forward to the challenge, and to discussing it with everyone else that is in on it!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2009 in blogging, books, challenge

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Jane Austen Challenge

  1. galleysmith

    June 28, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I too tried to vary my list of titles for the challenge. I wanted to make sure that I got something out of every kind of offering available. Glad you’re joining in too. Good luck!

     
  2. kay

    June 28, 2009 at 10:34 am

    That’s a good list waiting for you! 🙂 I want to read Austenland and Lost in Austen too, although I’m not sure yet that I’ll officially join the challenge!

     
  3. Stephanie

    June 28, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    I read Austenland last year and really enjoyed it (and heard from the author herself when I met her at Book Expo America that it’s being optioned for a movie)! Thanks so much for joining!!

     
  4. Shona

    July 1, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Good luck for the challenge.I watched the movie Jane Austen Book Club and loved it. I have started reading the book and am loving it so far.

     

Leave a Reply

 
