RSS

Audiobooks for a family road trip

26 Jun
Don't worry, we'll be safer than this!

Don't worry, we'll be safer than this!

I’m planning ahead for our family road trip this summer, and am looking for audiobooks the whole family (mom, dad, 11 year old girl) would enjoy.

I think Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy (my review) by Gary D. Schmidt might have been a good choice, but I just listened to it, and I didn’t like it enough to listen to it again yet.

My daughter mentioned The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke.  She started listening to it on a school field trip, and thinks we all might like it.  She reminded me I’d suggested The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett for a previous trip.

I asked on Twitter, to give our family a wider range of choices.

@SuziQoregon suggested The Peter and the Starcatchers series by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson – (read by Jim Dale).

@booksandmovies mentioned the Harry Potter books, as well as the Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket, as read by Tim Curry.

@bookaliciouspam also suggested the Harry Potter books, as well as the  Septimus Heap books by Angie Sage.

@BrendaCopeland recommended The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. This was on my “want to read” list, but unfortunately, I can’t find the audiobook on-line. Audible says they’ll get back to me on when it will be available again within 7-10 days. I’m not sure my attention span is that long.

@notruthless suggested Holes by Louis Sachar or Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.

@yondalla suggested Bud, not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis or Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer.

Now I have to see what my family wants. Any more suggestions? Leave me a comment.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2009 in books

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Audiobooks for a family road trip

  1. Denise B.

    June 26, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    The audiobook edition of Alan Bradley’s THE SWEETNESS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PIE is published by Random House and available on Amazon.

    Denise Bukowski, Alan’s agent

     

Leave a Reply

 
