RSS

The View from Monday

22 Jun

On Monday, I join J. Kaye’s Book Blog in looking back at what I’ve read and forward at what I plan to read.

The View Behind Me

I didn’t do a lot of reading this week.  I spent a lot of time welcoming summer with my daughter during her first week out of school.  I think things will settle down.

I read 3 books, finishing them all in the last few days. I haven’t written any of the reviews yet.

Of Bees and Mist: A Novel (Hardcover) by Erick Setiawan Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan, which I’ve been reading with the Barnes & Noble First Look Book Club.  It has been an interesting experience to discuss the book in this forum.  There were some great insights, and it was fun to have the author answering questions.  On the other hand, with that many people participating, it was hard to keep up with everything, let along engage in conversations.

The Wednesday Sisters: A Novel (Hardcover) by Meg Waite Clayton I’m not quite finished with The Wednesday Sisters by Meg Waite Clayton, but I’m so close I decided to list it anyway. It is a book I found at a Kepler’s Books book club event.  I picked it up because the author was interesting and the book took place locally.  I’m enjoying reading about this group of women, seeing how their lives played out over time.

Shoot from the Lip (Yellow Rose Mystery #4) by Leann Sweeney Shoot from the Lip by Leanne Sweeney is #4 in the Yellow Rose Mystery series. I listened to it this week. I think this is one of the best books in a good series, and I’m looking forward the the 5th book. I really want to read her newest book, The Cat, the Quilt and the Corpse.

Looking Forward

My scheduled reading is getting busy!

I’d hoped to start on Interred with Their Bones by Jennifer Lee Carrel last week, since we’ll be discussing for Book Club L on Thursday.  I misplaced my copy, and I was hoping it would re-appear.  So far, it hasn’t, so I guess I’ll acquire a new one.  It should be a quick read.

Book Club M isn’t until July 6, but I think The Black Dahlia by James Ellroy may be a long read for me, and I’ll probably start it early.

Finger Lickin Fifteen by Janet Evanovich is released on Tuesday.  Enough said :-).

I’ve got more paper books, but doubt I’m going to get any further than that.

As usual, I don’t have a backlog of audiobooks.  My daughter is in camp next week, so I think Middlesex by Jeffry Eugenides will work at this point.  Next, I’ll start again with  I’ll probably listen to the next Yellow Rose mystery, if it is available from NetLibrary.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2009 in books, meme, summary

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “The View from Monday

  1. nanscorner

    June 22, 2009 at 4:21 am

    I loved the book Middlesex when I read it. Happy reading and continue to enjoy summer!

     
  2. Nicole

    June 22, 2009 at 4:37 am

    You have been reading some great books, The Secret Life of Bees looks good. I really like the cover.

     
  3. BookwormMari

    June 22, 2009 at 5:23 am

    The Wednesday Sister’s is on my list to read in the next few weeks. Hope you liked it.

    Is it discussion worthy, for book clubs? I hope so!

     
    • Laura

      June 22, 2009 at 9:07 am

      I think The Wednesday Sisters would make a good book club choice, although somewhat dependent on the book club.

      It would make a very good choice for one of mine, and a so-so choice for the other– I think it depends how much the club wants to talk strictly about the book, versus using the book to explore their own lives.

       
  4. Sharon

    June 22, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Looks like you have some good reading waiting for you. I put Of Bees and Mist on my wish list. Happy reading!

     
  5. Andrea

    June 22, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Oh I can’t wait for Finger Lickin Fifteen. Happy reading!

     
  6. Maree

    June 22, 2009 at 6:46 am

    Great list. Happy reading 🙂

     
  7. J. Kaye

    June 22, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I’ve been wanting to read “Middlesex” and just never found the time.

     
    • Laura

      June 22, 2009 at 2:43 pm

      So many books, so little time!

       

Leave a Reply

 
