RSS

Bloggiesta Wrap-up

21 Jun

After this post, we will return to our regular book-related programming!

bloggiestafinishIn the last 48 hours, I’ve put in about 17 hours of work on my blog (my goal was 18) and I listened to 4 hours of an audiobook (my goal was 6 hours of reading). I may be cheating a bit with that, because 2-3 hours of that listening was while I was working on my blog :-).

I completed7 mini-challenges:

On my original to do list, I worked on these items:

  1. Explore Self-hosting. (more on this below)
  2. Back up my blog (done)
  3. More book shots– find old photos (2 done. Hopefully I’ll find more later)
  4. post on what makes a book work for me as audiobook (solid draft done)
  5. Create a permanent page for each of my book clubs. (done for now)
  6. Make a page for badges. (first pass done. Needs work)
  7. Integrate Technorati, Book Blips, etc. (started, Needs work)

I have 6 posts close to ready to go, which is amazing to me. I did a bunch of small bits and pieces of work on little things.

I spent less time than I expected on my major task for the weekend. I looked into self-hosted WordPress running on our ISP. I ran into two problems. First, they are running an ancient version of WordPress. Second, our two domains being hosted in the same place are really confusing something. Glitches abounded.

My husband did some research and contacted tech support. I’m going to try to work on this more in a few days, but it will be a major undertaking just to get the infrastructure in place :-(.

As for what I didn’t do:

  1. Giveaway template, first posts (didn’t even touch this)
  2. Review Angels & Demons (didn’t touch this)
  3. Look into memes I might want to use. (didn’t touch this)
  4. Find a scalable approach for Review list. (didn’t touch this)
  5. Add currently reading to sidebar. (didn’t touch this)

This there are also 5 challenges I didn’t complete, and would like to work on even when Bloggiesta is over.

And I discovered I need meta tags, and can’t figure out how to use them on this WordPress.com blog.

For me, the best part was the community aspect of the time spent, having other people working “with” me.  A close runner up was having an excuse to use to concentrate on my blog, a reason my husband and daughter both understood :-).

Next time, I will set aside more time for working on my feed and visiting other blogs.  I simply didn’t get to that this time, probably because it didn’t occur to me beforehand that would be part of this process.

This was a VERY productive 48 hours for me, and I want to say a big thank you to all of the mini-challenge hosts, to everyone that stopped by to comment, and to all the supportive folks on Twitter. I want to give a shout-out to my new blogging buddies– Woo Hoo! This is going to be great!

And a special, huge, I can’t say enough Thank You to Natasha at Maw Books. She came up with the idea, organized it, and helped us all and cheered us all though the process.

I’m thrilled to think about doing this again some time.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2009 in blogging

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Bloggiesta Wrap-up

  1. nanscorner

    June 21, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Thank you for teaching me out to post on a WordPress blog without having to sign out! You were right… it was just that one little thing I hadn’t filled in. 🙂

     
  2. kay

    June 21, 2009 at 7:57 am

    You did great! I hope you can find a way to fix your issue with your domain!

     
  3. Debbie's World of Books

    June 21, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Great job! You got a lot of work done. I just switched to a self hosted wordpress site using Dreamhost. Luckily I had a friend that does freelance work moving WordPress blogs and she took care of all the ugly details. I didn’t do any reading this weekend. A first!

    Meta tags-still need to read up on this. I know people say it’s important but not sure what exactly you need to do.

    Hope you had fun during bloggiesta!

     
  4. sdechantal

    June 21, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Wow! You got a lot done on the challenge! How fun was that?

     
  5. Liyana

    June 21, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I think you did a great job!

     
  6. Belle

    June 21, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    You got so much done! Congratulations! And all the mini-challenges, too – wow!

     
  7. Nicola O.

    June 21, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Hi Laura! A blogger’s list is never done, is it? Your “done” vs. “remaining” vs. “stuff I found out that I needed to do” seems similar to mine, LOL.

    Couple of memes you might look into:
    Weekly Geeks
    Bookworm’s Carnival

    I like to do the Thursday Thirteen every now and then. The Tuesday Teaser is a popular one with book blogs, too. (I think that’s the right link)

    (apologies in advance if the html doesn’t work…)

     
  8. BookwormMari

    June 22, 2009 at 5:25 am

    I have a list of things I need to do… I have been watching the Bloggiesta and hope to complete this week. I spent zero hours in front of my laptop over the weekend!

    A lot to catch up on. Your blog looks great!

     
  9. Britt

    June 22, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Way to go! You got a lot done!
    (I think I spent half my time in my feedreader or going through bloggiesta-related emailed comments!)

     
  10. galleysmith

    June 24, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    I’m woefully behind on my feedreader (yet again) but wanted to make sure to congratulate you on a great job. You accomplished so much over this event! I know that over the weekend even though I did some of what was on my to do list I found just as much to put on it.

    Fabulous work.

     
  11. Natasha @ Maw Books

    July 5, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    I’m SO behind on stopping by and saying thank you so much for participating in Bloggiesta. I’m thrilled that everybody had a great time. And you got a ton done! That’s awesome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
