RSS

Bloggiesta update #3

20 Jun

I’ve put in another 5.5 hours of work on Bloggiesta.

I finished the gravatar/favicon challenge that  Trish from Hey Lady! Watcha Readin’? hosted. I propogated that picture to all sites I could think of.

I also completed the anchor text challenge that Michelle from GalleySmith hosted.

I finished the Website Grader challenge that Ruth from Bookish Ruth hosted.  This led me to spend some time looking into including better metadata on my blog.  Unfortunately,  i don’t see how to do this on WordPress.com.  If anyone has any pointers, I’d really like to see them.

I also worked more on my hopeful eventual move to self-hosted WordPress.  Or in this case, ISP hosted WordPress.  I discovered their version is REALLY out of date and that our having 2 domains is confusing their server.  Or me.  Or both.  I’m backing off for the moment so I can regroup– I’m not sure if this is going to work :-(.

I did some odds and ends with book blips, and  Technorati.  I also may be joining up with a blogging buddy group, which would be fantastic.

And of course, I wrote this update.

As for reading, I’ve listened to another two hours.  I haven’t touched my paper book.

Hopefully I’ll do some actual writing this afternoon/evening.  I don’t think I’ll finish reading anything to review, though.

I hope everyone else that is working on Bloggiesta is having a productive day.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2009 in blogging, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Bloggiesta update #3

  1. rhapsodyinbooks

    June 20, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Favicon looks good!

     
  2. Nan

    June 20, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Hi Laura,

    You’ve done a lot of good work today! I can’t believe how caught up in this I became. I was only going to do a little here and there, and I ended up spending most of the day!

    When you get a chance (and when you get a chance to regroup) can explain the difference between self-hosting and ISP hosted WordPress?

    Oh, I have another WordPress related question for you. I find that when I comment on WordPress blogs, I have to sign out of my WordPress blog or else my name won’t come up as a link to my blog. Do you know any other way around that?

     
    • Laura

      June 20, 2009 at 3:46 pm

      What I mean by ISP hosted is that my Internet Service Provider has the software installed and available for use by their customers.

      In theory, this means I don’t have to have a computer that is accessible from the Internet and then maintain the server software myself. Unfortunately, their software is so out of date I’m not sure if that will work or not.

      I had the same problem you have with the blog name and the commenting! Go into your dashboard and click on your name at the top. Make sure everything is filled out. I think it doesn’t default to your blog for either your website or something like that!

      Let me know if that doesn’t do it for you.

       
  3. nanscorner

    June 20, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    OK, I think I might have filled out the right thing. I’m sorry to be testing this out in your comments!

     
  4. nanscorner

    June 20, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    It worked! Thanks for the help!! 🙂

     
  5. Haiku Amy

    June 21, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Congrats on finishing the Bloggiesta! Doesn’t it feel good to learn new things and accomplish stuff?
    It is also fun to meet new people and work together.

     

Leave a Reply

 
