RSS

Bloggiesta checkpoint #1

19 Jun

It’s been almost 6.5 hours since I started, and I’ve been working on Bloggiesta for about 3 of those. I was dealing with mom/kid stuff for the other 3, although I was able to listen to an audiobook for about 30 minutes.

I need some help

My check-in is under this section.

I’d been planning on updating my icons/avatars/favicons, although I forgot to add that to my Bloggiesta post.

Please help me pick the best one!

1. a cropped picture of me

L book icon 1

2. A filtered picture of me

L book icon 2

3. Filtered book 1

L book icon 34. Filtered book 2

L book icon 45. Filtered book 3

L book icon 5Please leave me a comment, e-mail me, or contact me on Twitter and let me know which one you think works well at the full range of sizes.

What else have I done.

1 hour on basic setup, initial post and this one, checking out challenges, and keeping up on blog related mail/twitter.

I’ve spent about 1.5 hours on the avatar/icon thing.

30 minutes on the mini-challenge from Emily’s Reading Room.  I already had a Google Alert for my URL, and I’ve now set one up for my blog name, with a comprehensive search.  I also added my full name, but only searching blogs– there are too many people that share it for me to want to know every time it comes up. I’ve asked questions if there is anything else I should do.

30 minutes on the mini-challenge from Lynn from Chronicle of an Infant Bibliophile.  I submitted a request to the BBAW directory and verified I have a request pending for Fyrefly’s Book Blogs Search Engine.  I joined Blog Catalog and Blog Search Engine. I looked into several others on the Essential Blog Directories list. Several are fee based, at least one requires a 6 month history (I just hit 2 months).

And I REALIZED– If my I meet my primary Bloggiesta goal, and migrate my blog to self hosted soon, I get to do all of this again! Sigh.

UPDATE

Interestingly, choices differed by contact method, but they ended up being relatively evenly split between 1,2 & 5.

I think this means that the pictures with my face do work, so I’ll go with one of them, and looking at them today, I think I prefer 2.

And I can always change later :-).

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2009 in blogging, Me

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Bloggiesta checkpoint #1

  1. Haiku Amy

    June 19, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Great job on the bloggiesta. I like #1 cropped picture of you.
    Keep up the bloggy goodness.

     
  2. Betty and Boo's Mommy

    June 19, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I agree with Haiku Amy – I like the cropped pic, #1. You’re off to a great start!

     
  3. Britt

    June 19, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    I really like the cropped pic of you, but I think the third book one is the easiest to see as a small pic (for the favicon). That’s the tricky thing with favicons. They’re so blasted small.

     
  4. Natasha @ Maw Books

    June 19, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I liked #2!

     
  5. Lynn

    June 19, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    I like choice #1! Good for you getting so much done. I’m just flitting about from one page to another and not accomplishing much, but having fun!

     

Leave a Reply

 
