RSS

Monday reading

15 Jun

I’m joining J. Kaye’s Book Blog in looking back at last week and forward into this one.  Last week was the last week of school, and was pretty hectic around here.  This week is the first week of summer, and I really don’t know how that will affect my reading time.


Last week

I read 3 books last week, and have only reviewed one of them.

Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy (Audio CD) by Gary D. Schmidt Mid-week, I listened to and reviewed Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy. Thank you to Bermuda Onion for recommending it. I just wish I’d saved it for our upcoming family road trip!  This is a book that can be enjoyed by a wide range of ages, including adults.


Beach Trip: A Novel (Hardcover) by Cathy Holton I spent most of the week on Beach Trip by Cathy Holton. I finished on on Saturday. I liked it, but it didn’t compel me to pick it up and continue reading. I’m still sorting through what I did/didn’t like about it. I’ll be discussing it tomorrow at Books on the Brain. I’m hoping to write the review today– I meant to yesterday, but instead, I picked up the next book:


The Actor and the Housewife: A Novel (Hardcover) by Shannon Hale I picked up The Actor and the Housewife by Shannon Hale.  I then had a very hard time putting it down. I finished it in one day.  I know some of the reasons I enjoyed it, but I’m not sure why I found it SO compelling.  I probably won’t get to this review before Wednesday, so that will give me more time to think it through.


Upcoming

I started listening to Middlesex by Jeffry Eugenides last week.  I’m discovering I don’t deal well with it with lots of interuptions, and am putting it aside until a week when my daughter is in camp.

I checked Leann Sweeney’s Shoot from the Lip from NetLibrary, and I’ll probably listen to it next.  I have a few Audible.com books waiting, in case I change my mind.  I’m trying to decide when I want to listen to Laurie R. King’s The Language of Bees (Mary Russell Series, #9).  I’ve read (and reviewed it), and am looking forward to hearing the audio version.


This will be my last week with Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan, which I’m reading with the Barnes & Noble First Look Book Club.

At some point this week, I need to start reading for the following week’s meeting of book club L.  We’ll be discussing Interred with Their Bones by Jennifer Lee Carrell, and I’m really looking forward to it.

I should have time for at least one other book, and I have a lot of choices. I’m thinking of The Crying Tree by Naseem Rakha. I’m also eying Messenger of Truth, A Maisie Dobbs novel by Jacqueline Winspear and The Wednesday Sisters by Meg Waite Clayton. I’m not sure yet what I’ll choose!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags:

13 responses to “Monday reading

  1. Honey

    June 15, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Wow. Great list! I hope you get back to Middlesex. I loved that book.

    Have a good reading week!

     
    • imbookingit

      June 15, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      Thank you!

      I think I’ll pick it up again next week, when my daughter is in camp. I keep thinking about the book, which is always a good sign.

       
  2. J. Kaye

    June 15, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I had to laugh at the comment about not handling interruptions well. When it comes to reading – especially audio books, neither do I. 😉

     
  3. Alaine Bucknall

    June 15, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    I have found that with a couple of books, I think it happens with both good and bad. I finished a great series (Vampire Academy) and I was lost after that. Couldn’t decide what to pick up and am not really enjoying what I have.

     
    • imbookingit

      June 15, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      In this case, Middlesex is good, but odd enough to require sustained attention. I keep thinking I missed things even when I didn’t :-).

      I’ve been in that situation where I finish something I really like, and then I want more just like it– even a really good book won’t do if it is different. In the past, I’ve been known to just reread!

       
  4. Mary

    June 15, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I haven’t read one bad word about The Actor and the Housewife! It’s on my TBR list.

     
    • imbookingit

      June 15, 2009 at 6:29 pm

      I’m not sure it is for everyone, but I really enjoyed it!

       
  5. rebecca

    June 15, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    thanks for the comment on my blog, hope you visit often.

     
  6. Teddyree

    June 22, 2009 at 4:23 am

    Great choice of books. I won a copy of The Actor and The Housewife a week or 2 ago and I can’t wait for it to arrive. Have a great reading week 🙂

     
  7. dsuzuki

    June 22, 2009 at 6:34 am

    I loved The Actor and the Housewife. I was outright laughing at some points.

     
  8. thebrainlair

    June 22, 2009 at 7:12 am

    I must say the Actor and The Housewife is still one of my top books this year! Loved it – laughed and cried. My other favorite is Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen!

     
  9. Mary

    June 22, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    I read Middlesex a few years ago and liked it. Not sure I’d want to listen to it though.

    I really want to read The Actor and the Housewife.

     
  10. shannanlee

    June 22, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    I agree with you about interruptions. Reading classics with interruptions is very difficult. I finished OF BEES AND MIST last night and I loved it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
