RSS

Monday reading

08 Jun

I decided to try a weekly reading summary/forward look.   Of course, the week I decided this, I didn’t have much time for reading. That’s how it goes sometimes.

Last week

I finished two books: one paper, one audio:

Old World Daughter, New World Mother: An Education in Love and F... by Maria Laurino Old World Daughter, New World Mother: An Education in Love and Freedom by Maria Laurino was my physical book for the week.  It is my first book I received for review.  Unfortunately, it didn’t quite come together as a whole for me, even though I found much of the content interesting and thought provoking.

True Colors (Hardcover) by Kristin Hannah True Colors by Kristin Hannah was what I listened to last week. I should have my review up in a few days. I downloaded this to listen to after reading a positive review of another book by the same author, since I’ve never read anything she’s written. Unfortunately, I was largely disappointed in this book. Whereas OWDNWM was a very high 3 star rating, and caused me to consider 4 stars, this book was a low to middle 3 stars for me.

This week

I’m still reading Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan for the Barnes & Noble First Look Book Club.  There is a recommended reading schedule of 9-10 chapters a week, and I’m sticking to that, so I’ll be finishing this for the final week of discussion on 6/22.  I’m enjoying it so far, although I don’t like the second section as well as the first, which I really liked.

I’m reading Beach Trip: A Novel by Cathy Holton for the Books on The Brain Summer Reading Series on 6/16.

If I finish that, I’ll probably start The Crying Tree: A Novel by Naseem Rakha or The Actor and the Housewife: A Novel by Shannon Hale if I need something lighter.

Next up on audio will probably be Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, on the recommendation of @yondalla.  If I decide to go for something different, I’ve also downloaded Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt on the recomendation of Bermuda Onion.

reading benchThis is my daughter’s last week of school, and it is busy!  I don’t know how much reading time I’ll end up with this summer.  Since my daughter also loves reading, I suspect we’ll end up blowing off other activities to read :-).

What are you reading? Will summer make a difference to your reading time?

(Check out J. Kay’s Blog for other Monday reading summaries.)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2009 in books, Me, summary

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Monday reading

  1. J. Kaye

    June 8, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    I am a huge fan of Kristin Hannah. Sorry you didn’t care for this one though. I have it coming up soon.

     
    • imbookingit

      June 8, 2009 at 7:15 pm

      I liked enough about it that I would try another book by her, but I’d look for specific recommendations first!

       
  2. Mary

    June 8, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    A few of those titles are on my TBR list. Have a good week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
