RSS

Books I can relate to– stay at home moms

07 Jun

books selectedMost of the time when I read, I like to read about people and places that are different than what I know. Sure, it is nice when there is something I can relate to, but the newness of the situation is the biggest appeal.

Sometimes, I want a book that I can hook into in a specific way– that has a situation I recognize.

I go through this with many different situations– books that are set in locations I recognize. Books set in the high tech world. Books about book clubs. I’ll save those for another set of posts, if this one is successful.

I like reading books about stay at home moms. I don’t run into many of them (I haven’t read any since I started this blog!). A few that I’ve read:

The Ten-Year Nap by Meg Wolitzer

A group of moms struggle with their lives after 10 years as stay at home moms. I liked this one better than most people did. The main character’s struggle for identity resonated with me, and I liked the group of characters, even if they were often whiny.

Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons by Lorna Landvik

A group of women in the 50s form a book club/support group, and keep going for many years, through many changes. It’s been almost 5 years since I read this one, but I remember enjoying it. I wanted to live in a community as close-knit as this one. I loved the book club choices.

Carpe Demon by Julie Kenner

(And the other Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom) A retired demon-hunter (think Buffy the Vampire Slayer) comes (unwillingly) out of retirement because demons are threatening her community. She must keep this a secret from almost everyone in her current life. I really enjoyed the first books of this series. The most recent ones haven’t appealed as much, for reasons I won’t go into here. On the whole, I’m glad my life isn’t that exciting, but there are moments…

Nursery Crimes by Ayelet Waldman

And the other Mommy-Track Mysteries. I found these relatively forgettable– I’m not even sure how many I read– but the do fit the niche I’m talking about here.

I’m looking forward to The Actor and the Housewife: A Novel by Shannon Hale. It looks like complete fantasy, but a fun complete fantasy.

I’m sure I’ve read others that I’m not thinking of, and that there are MANY more I haven’t read.

Any suggestions for books about Stay at Home moms? Ones that aren’t dreadful preferred :-), but I’m interested in all suggestions.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 7, 2009 in books, Me

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Books I can relate to– stay at home moms

Leave a Reply

 
