RSS

Fun Book Meme

02 Jun

I picked this one up from Rebecca at Lost In Books.  Thanks Rebecca!

1. What author do you own the most books by?

Probably Terry Pratchett.  He’s prolific, and I own almost all of his books.

2. What book do you own the most copies of?

There are several books in Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series that I own three copies of– two on paper, and then the audiobook.

3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?

Not at all.

4. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?

When I was in middle school, I was in love with Will Stanton from The Dark Is Rising and the other books in the series.  I don’t think I’ve had more than a passing crush since then.  Of course, with Neil Gaiman’s newest twitter profile photo and fantastic tweets, I might be developing a passing crush on him :-).  Check it out.

5. What book have you read the most times in your life?

Hmm.  Since becoming an adult, probably The Beekeeper’s Apprentice. I don’t know if that can even start to rival the number of rereads of pretty much everything I owned when I was younger.

6. Favorite book as a ten year old?

Probably the Trixie Belden books.

7. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?

Memoirs Found in a Bathtub by Stanislaw Lem.  I’d heard good things about it, and I really wanted to like it.  I just found it repetitive and pointless.

8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?

The Language of Bees by Laurie R. King, Little Brother by Cory Doctorow.

9. If you could force everyone you know to read one book, what would it be?

I’m not a big believer in forcing anyone to read anything.  Any recommendations would be personalized.  I would strongly encourage people to participate in their community reading programs, if they have one.  Locally that would be Silicon Valley Reads.

10. What book would you most like to see made into a movie?

The Hunger Games would probably make a good movie, if they did it right.

11. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?

Probably The God of Small Things.  I found it very difficult to follow.

12. What is your favorite book?

The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King.

13. Play?

I’m a big musical person.  Probably Into the Woods or (guilty pleasure) Mamma Mia.

14. Poem?

Nothing comes to mind, I haven’t read poetry in years.

15. Essay?

I can’t remember the last essay I read.  Other than proof-reading my 11yo’s schoolwork, and I’m not listing those.

16. Who is the most overrated writer alive today?

Cormac McCarthy.  I shouldn’t judge him solely on “The Road”.  But I will anyway.

17. What is your desert island book?

Cryptonimicon by Neal Stephenson.

18. And . . . what are you reading right now?

Old World Daughter, New World Mother: An Education in Love and Freedom by Maria Laurino

Of Bees and Mist: A Novel by Erick Setiawan

(listening) True Colors by Kristin Hannah

Leave me a comment with a link to your answers! (or leave them here if you’d rather).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2009 in books, meme

 

4 responses to “Fun Book Meme

  1. DOMINO

    June 3, 2009 at 3:26 am

    I did your meme. It was fun!

     
  2. Rebecca

    June 3, 2009 at 11:43 am

    It is so interesting to read everyone’s responses to this meme. Isn’t it strange how one reader can love a book and another thinks it is repetitive and boring? I always find that fascinating.

    I have been wanting to read The God of Small Things. Your response to it gives me pause, but I will try it nonetheless. But thanks for the warning on it being difficult to follow. I have found quite a few of those lately.

     
  3. vickivanv

    June 3, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Ooooh–love this meme! I have at least four different editions of The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, myself, including the audio. I’ll soon also have the kindle version to read on my iphone if they will EVER put it in the kindle store. :..( :..( :..(

     
  4. booklogged

    June 4, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Laura, it looks like we share another favorite author, besides Pratchett and Winspear – Laurie King. I started reading Pyramids by Pratchett and then I saw The Language of Bees at the library so now I’ve split my time between reading 2 books at the same time. They are so different in nature that I do get them confused, but I don’t zip through either one. (Like I ever ZIP through any book!)

    We differ on crushes – I like some of Gaiman’s books, but no chance of a crush on him!

     

Leave a Reply

 
