RSS

Meme: Why I Blog

16 May

msmazzola at State of Denmark says:

My AP Literature and Composition students are working on their senior presentations.  I have promised them that I too will complete a research project.  This blog has been a huge part of my project, as I am researching why people blog.  I have read several articles pertaining to my topic, but I would love to gather as much information from “real live bloggers”, if at all possible.  So, if you are willing to participate, I have a few questions I would love to ask you.  Perhaps we could make this a meme and you could post in on your on blog and just leave a link under my comments…..

1.  How long have you been blogging?

About 1 month now!

2.  Why did you start blogging?

As a way to explore new skills.  Because I wanted to keep track of the books I read.  As a way to reach out and meet new people.   So I can feel like someone is listening to me.

3.  What have you found to be the benefits of blogging?

The keeping track of what I’m reading is clearly working.  I think my writing is improving.  I’m getting more comfortable with basic HTML.

4.  How many times a week do you post an entry?

About 4 times a week.

5.  How many different blogs do you read on a regular basis?

I have 70 in Google Reader.  Some are inactive, some I just skim the titles of the posts.

6.  Do you comment on other people’s blogs?

I’ve certainly gotten better about it since I started blogging.

7.  Do you keep track of how many visitors you have?  Is so, are you satisfied with your numbers?

I see how many page views I have.  No, I’m not satisfied.  I would like more, as part of that “making connections” and “being heard” thing.  But in theory, I’m writing this for myself, and it shouldn’t matter how many readers I have.

8.  Do you ever regret a post that you wrote?

Not yet!  Give me time!

Although there are two books that I wrote that I probably shouldn’t have given them the ratings I did.   And I’ve since decided the ratings should be changed, but haven’t decided how I’ll go about changing them.

9.  Do you think your audience has a true sense of who you are based on your blog?

Probably not yet.

10.  Do you blog under your real name?

Yes.

11.  Are there topics that you would never blog about?

I’m going to try to keep this blog book related.  I’d have to think hard about books that are strongly opinionated, so that reviewing them means discussing that opinion.

12.  What is the theme/topic of your blog?

Books.

13.  Do you have more than one blog?  If so, why?

Not yet!  I’ve considered a more personal blog, but I’m not ready to figure out how I’d handle that yet.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 16, 2009 in blogging, Me

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Meme: Why I Blog

  1. Stacy

    May 20, 2009 at 7:05 am

    I would love to see a more personal blog from you!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
