RSS

April wrap up

01 May

My big book accomplishment for the month was starting this blog. My first post was on April 14, and my first review was posted April 17.

Every year I say I’m going to keep track of the books I read. This is the first year I can remember where I’ve stuck to it past March, so hooray for me! 🙂 My book count for the month of April is nine. Four were audiobooks, five were on paper. I’ve read 33 books so far this year, and 13 of those were audiobooks.

This months reads:

(Early reviews are on Goodreads, later are on this blog).

This was a good month of reading, with a nice variety of books. My favorites were the last two, Little Brother and The Language of Bees.

I’m currently reading Cures for Heartbreak by Margo Rabb, which I need to finish for book club M’s discussion on Monday evening. I’ve been dragging out Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell for some time now, but I think I’ll try to finish it this month. Maybe.

I’m currently listening to Comfort Food by Kate Jacobs, and while it isn’t bad,  I’m not overly excited by it.  NetLibrary and my computer are not getting along well, which is limiting my options for this months listening. (Note to self: must take time from reading, blogging, and reading blogs to troubleshoot).

Sometime during May, I will be reading Stones from the River by Ursula Hegi for book club L.  Since book club M will meet on June 1, I’ll be reading something for it during May, but I’m not sure which book yet.  Other than that, I have a tall to-be-read pile, and I’m sure plenty will be added to it this month.  I don’t have specific plans.

What did everyone else read?  Anything particularly good?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2009 in books

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “April wrap up

  1. Elizabeth Bradley

    May 2, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I truly don’t get why Kate Jacobs books sell so well. They aren’t that well written and they’re boring. Have a lovely weekend.

     
    • imbookingit

      May 2, 2009 at 9:27 am

      Based on my one sample so far, I can’t argue. It certainly has reduced my interest in her other books. It is frustrating because I keep thinking it should be more interesting than I’m finding it.

      Hope you have a great weekend.

       
      • Sharon Spivack

        May 4, 2009 at 1:02 pm

        I love knitting and I’m a single Mom, AND I once considered (very briefly) opening a yarn shop…so I read Kate Jacobs “Friday Night Knitting Club”. It’s not my usual genre, but due to it’s alignment with my personal situation, I thought it would be a nice piece of fluff. It was, mostly because the main character was really fully fleshed out. Unfortunately, she dies at the end of the book.
        Since I’d read the first book, I felt compelled to read the sequel, “Knit Too.” Sadly, it was not nearly as good, although it was nice to find out what happens to the other characters, the plot meandered annoyingly, and the remaining characters never struck the right note to make this reader care about them much. So…given this situation, I wondered if the first book was a fluke for me, and that, as I suspected, I don’t think highly of the writer’s talents. I read “Comfort Food” last week and alas…I’m with Laura. It’s not terrible, but it’s hardly a “can’t put it down book.” For me, if I’m going to read fluff, it needs to be in that category because I’m using it as an escape hatch. So…no more Kate Jacobs for me. I am about to start “White Tiger” (I had to wait months to get it from the library); I don’t think it’s going to be the best Booker winner this decade, but I always like/admire the amazing writing talent of the writers who win. I think it will be a nice counterpoint to “Comfort Food.”
        You’re doing a great job with the blog, Laura. I can really hear your voice in your reviews!

         
  2. Sue Jackson

    May 6, 2009 at 8:22 am

    I’m in two book groups, too! One of mine is reading The Nine: Inside the Secret World of the Supreme Court by Jeffrey Toobin for May, and the other is reading a novel, A Map of the World by Jane Hamilton.

    I haven’t started either one yet! I better go right to the library website after I leave this comment.

    To see what else I’ve read recently, here’s a link to my “What I’m Reading Now” posts on my blog:

    http://bookbybook.blogspot.com/search/label/What%20I%27m%20Reading

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
