RSS

Upcoming Book Club Books

30 Apr

Book club M has selected our next 6 months of books, although we don’t have the order yet.  You can see our process and ballot in an earlier post.

We already had Cures for Heartbreak by Margo Rabb scheduled for our discussion next Monday.

Coming up after that, we now have:
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Halting State by Charles Stross
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
The Black Dahlia by James Ellroy
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Tallgrass by Sandra Dallas

Which is a nice set of books that I’m looking forward to reading.  I’ll review them here, and also follow up with how well they worked for us for discussion.

We had a few books that almost made the cutoff and will be on our ballot next time.  This  includes a couple that I may read anyway, because I was really hoping they would make it.  Just because I run things doesn’t mean I get my way :-).  Really, one of the best things about being in a book club is reading books that I might not have picked up otherwise.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2009 in Book Club, books, M

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Upcoming Book Club Books

  1. Elizabeth

    May 1, 2009 at 11:42 am

    I always love getting suggestions from other clubs! We just read “The Lighthouse” by PD James. It was my first James, so that was kind of nice. I can’t even remember the next one, silly me. But I choose for the following month and I’m going for a great book on how to achieve balance in life. It’s “Honor Yourself: The Inner Art of Giving and Receiving,” by Patricia Spadaro. It helps you find greater happiness, blanace and peace, by moving beyond all the myths, the “shoulds” about giving and receiving so that you honor yourself, by giving from the heart. There’s even a guide for book groups.

     
  2. Ruth @ Bookish Ruth

    May 1, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Those are all great book club choices! I can’t wait to hear what you think of them. I miss having a real-life book club to go to.

     

Leave a Reply

 
