RSS

Review: Only Milo by Barry Smith

30 Aug

OnlyMiloMy rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a VERY fast, highly entertaining read.
From Goodreads.com:

From the Depths of a Closet
Full of Dusty Manuscripts…

…comes Milo, author and murderer extraordinaire.

Educated at the School of Dexter, with a major in CSI, Milo emerges from his quiet, SPAM-laced retirement to become an unseen force in the literary world, covertly publishing his novels in another author’s name.

But when Milo’s illicit ghostwriting is nearly exposed on national television, he’s left with only one option: murder. In a world of egotistical, no-talent authors and duplicitous, back-stabbing publishers, he becomes determined to get what he deserves.

Even if it means they all must die.

Only Milo is funny in a very twisted way.  I like twisted.

Milo finds himself in situations which, although not fair, are of his own making. He decides to make his own solutions as well.

The writing had an interesting rhythm to it, with short sentences, repeated phrases. In some ways, the book read like poetry, although it wasn’t what I’d normally name poetic.

I picked this book off of my shelf because I was looking for a quick read. I read it in well under an hour, so it was quicker than I’d planned.

Thank you to publicist Nicole Krueger from Inkwater Press.  We met on Twitter, and she sent me a copy of this book for review.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Review: Only Milo by Barry Smith

  1. nanscorner

    August 30, 2009 at 5:51 am

    This sounds like the humor is similar to Christopher Moore books. I love Christopher Moore! I’ll have to try this one. I love the cover!

     
  2. Lisa

    August 30, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Sounds like fun and I’m always happy to find a book I can read quickly. It helps keep up my stamina for those that take days!

     
  3. Nicole

    August 31, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Thanks for the great review, Laura! I’m glad you enjoyed the book. It’s definitely unlike anything else I’ve ever read.

     
  4. Sue

    September 1, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Sounds like a fun book, and I could use some quick reads!

     
  5. Megan

    September 25, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I enjoyed this one too! Definitely a fast-paced, different read. Even though I was a little nervous about the violence, it really wasn’t bad… and you’re right — in a way, it does closely resemble poetry!

     

Leave a comment